Babbo Natale Regatta

Today was the day! The Regatta was schedule for 10:30am. Karen and I met to watch from a good vantage point. And it was raining. Yes, the first rain since I’ve been here. But it was only a light drizzle…hardly worthy of being called rain but everyone had their stocks of umbrellas out for sale.
Here are some pics of the boats gathering for the regatta.
01-DSCN3493
02-DSCN3494
They were out pretty far from the fondamenta so even with my 42x’s zoom I couldn’t get good closeups…but I tried.
04-DSCN3497
05-DSCN3498
06-DSCN3499
07-DSCN3504
09-DSCN3508
They have to deal with some fairly large traffic.
10-DSCN3512
11-DSCN3513
Not a great day for a ride in a gondola but if you’re only here for a day…what choice do you have?
12-DSCN3522
The “official” boat has arrived. Note: man in black coat with megaphone.
13-DSCN3524
The official boat has a reindeer and a hedgehog. Would someone who knows enlighten me about the hedgehog?
15-DSCN3528
Sorry, but it looks like that would be a little prickly on the reindeer’s butt. Poor thing.

And this city is so full of distractions. Here is a decorated purple boat slipping into my field of vision from the side.
17-DSCN3542
Back to the Regatta…the ladies are ready to go.
18-DSCN3552
19-DSCN3553
The whistle is blown and they are off in the direction of San Marco.
20-DSCN3554
The ladies are out in front.
21-DSCN3556
Brrr! Where are your tights, girl?
23-DSCN3563
24-DSCN3572
And now time for some refreshment so we meandered over to a little bar she knew. Please remember that in Venice for those of you who don’t know…bars sell tea and coffee.
26-DSCN3574
27-DSCN3575
28-DSCN3576
She told me about this wonderful chocolate cake they serve here but she was going to be good and not have any.
Hmm….does this put us on Babbo Natale’s Naughty List.
25-DSCN3573
On the way home a Babbo Natale was trying to keep his feet above the level of Acqua Alta.
30-DSCN3580
Happy Holidays from Venice!
31-DSCN3584

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Babbo Natale, City of My Dreams, Photography, Travel, Venice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Babbo Natale Regatta

  1. Jan Graham says:

    Lovely, Venice is really getting into the Christmas mode, as usual some lovely photos
    you are excelling yourself, hope the weather bucks up,

    • mvaden1948 says:

      The weather forecast does not indicate any sun until just before Yvonne’s arrival on the 28th…but then she is usually a little ray of sunshine unto herself.
      But, hey, I’m from the Pacific Northwest where it rains a whole lot more than it does here. This is nothing to dampen my spirits.
      And at least it is not as frigidly cold as last year…which didn’t stop me either.
      Grazie for the photo compliments. I would not have known about the regatta if Karen hadn’t called me this morning. I’m hoping to see some nice pics on her blog too.

  2. lizbethraab says:

    Ah, they put on a good show, though one of them didn’t look as though he was enjoying it too much 🙂
    Like the Babbo Natale doing his best not to get his feet wet … cute.
    Ciao and have a nice weekend
    Liz

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao, Liz,
      I think it’s darn hard work being out there and avoiding the other boat traffic and doing what you are supposed to be doing. I think the one you refer to was concentrating very hard. They all have to have very strong arms and legs for that rowing….even the women.
      Hope you are having a nice weekend in Vienna.
      M

  3. lizbethraab says:

    Yes, I guess you are right: I hadn’t thought of that. And it looks quite chilly out there and the water quite rough. Here it was a lovely mild day and I ventured out in the sunshine that was actually rather pleasant.
    Tonight will try and have an early night. Feeling loads better.
    Ciao to you in Venice
    Liz

  4. Kavi says:

    Just stumbled upon your blog. What a cool and unique event!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie and welcome Kavi. I may have missed it if my friend hadn’t called me this morning. I have a lot more pictures that are not on the blog but …I can only show so many without boring people.
      Michelle (aka Misha)

Leave a Reply

