Of Sun and Shadow

It’s back. After three days of fog the sun has once again graced me with it’s presence.
Just look out my window this morning.
01-DSCN3183
Out the door like I’m going to Punto but…just before the final bridge turn left and see where it takes me. Lots of places I’ve never been and a few I have.
02-DSCN3190
03-DSCN3191
06-DSCN3210
I love Puss in Boots! Actually his boots look quite comfy and I’d like a pair in my size please.
08-DSCN3215
09-DSCN3218
Me in 10 years? But who is HE and when do I meet him?
10-DSCN3219
11-DSCN3220
12-DSCN3228
A young lady saw me with a camera and asked me to take her picture with hers and then she took mine with my camera.She was wearing a leopard scarf and I was wearing leopard gloves. Obviously kindred spirits.
14-DSCN3234
16-DSCN3243
17-DSCN3248
18-DSCN3249
19-DSCN3253
20-DSCN3255
22-DSCN3266
I was meandering towards Piazza San Marco. I knew not because of the signs or any real sense of where I was but by the increased density of the crowds. So I chose the bridge less traveled and heard music…pop music…loud…sounding live…and then there was a glass shop that the music came from and it was partly live (sorry no picture…it would have been intruding) because there he sat, with his blow torch working the glass and singing along with the music at the top of his lungs. He had a nice voice. If I had been interested in buying glass today I would have gone in.
But I turned down other more quiet calles.
23-DSCN3269
If you are coming home a little late after a little too much wine and miss the gate and bridge here they can help pull you out of the canal.
24-DSCN3270
This store had those black wool capes recently in discussion on another blog. But there was a hovering sales person so I only glanced at the price and didn’t try to check for fineness of fabric and quality of workmanship. The price was 180 Euros.
25-DSCN3275
27-DSCN3278
How on earth did I get to the Rialto Bridge? I have no idea. I mean I wasn’t exactly paying attention to where I was going but here I am…more people than I want to deal with at the moment.
28-DSCN3280
So I stepped quickly to my left and look. I know, no one is there and I’m only about ten feet, yes, only 10 feet, if that, from where I just was.
29-DSCN3282
By now I’m tired and hungry. I know, lots of places to eat in the area but I just want to go home. So, Rialto stop works for me and I helped two sets of tourists find the boat going in the direction they wanted and got this shot in the exact same spot where I took one last year on a magnificently grey day. Not grey today and I would put the other one here too for compare and contrast but I’m too lazy to look it up for you.
30-DSCN3291
At least I’m honest.
31-DSCN3294
Does anyone know where I can find one of these flags…somewhat smaller and at a price I may be willing to pay?
32-DSCN3297

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in City of My Dreams, Photography, Venice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Of Sun and Shadow

  1. biankonera says:

    So many beautiful pictures of so many of my favorite places. 🙂

  2. lizbethraab says:

    Hi there,
    I loved the photo which you took from the same place as the one from last year. There is something special about Venice, and you capture it on your many, beautiful snapshots
    It seems you have been lucky with the blue skies and sunshine, though I bet it is pretty chilly if one is out too long.
    At least I can post again (had to change my password). Not many comments today, maybe all are too busy getting caught up in the Christmas (c)rush ….
    Bongiorno! from Vienna
    Liz

    • mvaden1948 says:

      There also seems to be less blog traffic on the weekends too, Liz.
      Glad you are back and able to comment. WordPress does strange things to me too when I try to comment on someone else’s blog.

  3. may1787 says:

    Oh. My. Goodness. That glowing water photo is gorgeous! I’m also really loving the photographs of the lamps, interior and exteriorly. There is something about little things like those that most people won’t notice when they are in a group. How can you be lonely if you get to see “secrets” no one else gets to see, such as the shadowy lamps?
    Did you know, I have a leopard scarf, too? But, we already know we may be kindred spirits. I still think that one day we may meet in Venice! The leopard print can be a star in our ‘meet cute’ if it ever happens.
    Oh my, those capes… I always wanted a maroon red-riding hood style cape. Unfortunately, its not very practical where I live and I think the looks I would get would be uncomfortable. I do like them though.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      And “Oh, My Goodness” right back to you. You are indeed catching up. I personally have at least four leopard scarves. I have to get my leopard gloves into a picture. They are the ones I’m wearing every day because they are warm (probably not warm enough for where you live) and trimmed in hot pink. They were an impulse item the day before I left for my trip and the bonus…I don’t have to take them off to use the camera…most of the time.
      You will just have to come visit when I live here for real.
      You are just catching up on the posts. I hope you actually got some sleep.

      Yes, kindred spirits…I am your travel auntie.

Leave a Reply

