The Fog Blog

Yes, fog for the third day in a row. Guess I should have accepted delivery on that cat.
But being the intrepid (mad) photographer that I am, I went out anyway. Even stopped on the bridge to take a photo…so what’s new.
02-DSCN3113
And you can see my window decorations from the bridge.
03-DSCN3114
01-DSCN3112
Meandering in my neighborhood towards Francesco de La Vigna and Celestia vaporetto stop.
04-DSCN3116
05-DSCN3118
This is how Babbo Natale visits the good little boys and girls in a city without working fireplaces…like any other burglar, he climbs in the window.
06-DSCN3121
07-DSCN3123
I think there are some disappointed young people because the vaporetto doesn’t seem to be coming.
08-DSCN3124
Definitely “pea soup” fog.
09-DSCN3125
Saturday is a major weekly shopping day…just like in that “other place”. Note the fur coat…you would never see a fur coat at Safeway. Okay, maybe in Hollywood or Beverly Hills.
10-DSCN3128
13-DSCN3131
That seems to be the Campo d. Celestia. And by now you know about my addiction to weathered doors.
14-DSCN3132
Look! Another potential apartment for me! I’m more than willing to let them continue to operate the shop or bar or whatever it is behind the shutter. No, that is not a garage door…remember, no cars in Venice. Although that would not have made a difference to my late husband who never kept a car in the garage anyway.
15-DSCN3133
Lovely terrace already covered with plants.
16-DSCN3134
The canal outside my window Rio di S. Ternita eventually empties into the Rio d. Celestia according to my map.
17-DSCN3135
This may or may not be the spot as I could be possibly turned around in the fog.
18-DSCN3138
If you go in this direction you will come to my apartment…the one where I’m actually staying.
20-DSCN3140
How long do you think it took him to grow the hair?
22-DSCN3145
Yes, there is running water indoors. You do not need to collect it at the local fountain.
23-DSCN3150
? Me in twenty years?
24-DSCN3158
25-DSCN3162
Not very lively at the moment but the pigeon did decide to do a fly by.
26-DSCN3164
“If” I stepped out here and looked to the right I might be able to see my bridge. I said I was mad…not crazy. I have too much respect for my camera than to take a chance on slipping into the canal.
30-DSCN3169
I really wanted to see the garden behind this wall but there were no windows in the doors.
31-DSCN3172
I really wasn’t very far from home.35-DSCN3180
I can see that cactus from my living room window.

Karen Henderson posted a great video on her blog this morning of Venice in the fog…check it out.
http://theveniceexperience.blogspot.it/2013/12/venice-in-fog-december-13-2013.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed:+blogspot/EoWoz+(The+Venice+Experience)#sthash.VredF6WZ.dpbs

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in City of My Dreams, Fog, Photography, Venice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Fog Blog

  1. Jan Graham says:

    There is something surreal about Venice in a fog, would not suit me and my poor old chest, but all the same lovely to see, keep warm

    • mvaden1948 says:

      It didn’t feel that cold to me, Jan. Of course I was in full regalia of long underwear (silk, not the flannel ones I mentioned), long pants, turtleneck sweater with good warm parka, hat and gloves and oh, yes, boots.
      In fact I didn’t realize how cold it was until I got back and peeled off my gloves and touched my cold face with my warm hand….my cheeks were icy. But never noticed it when I was out.

  2. Jan Graham says:

    I think you need a bookmark too find yourself !!!

  3. Very nice place ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. lizbethraab says:

    It really looks eerie in that fog. Been that way too, much of the week, though we did have some wintry sunshine today. But it was by no means warm, though.
    Wish you a lovely weekend
    Liz

  5. Bert says:

    …the Venetian winter fogs, which are so thick that if you do pop out to shop you can find your way back through the tunnel your body carved through the fog on the way out… so they say.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I would not be surprised it that were indeed true. But the sun is out today and all is well with the world….or at least my little part of it in the City of My Dreams.

  6. may1787 says:

    Oh contraire mon soeur! I have seen a fur coat in Safeway! I live in Alaska though, so maybe that has something to do with it.

  7. mvaden1948 says:

    And there will be a fur coat shopping at Safeway in Seattle in the near future…on me. I have actually never seen one in the lower 48.

Leave a Reply

