What a difference a day makes….

Email from Karen said they had fog at St. Elena, two vaporetto stops away from me this morning. I looked out and saw sun and blue skies. That was this morning. I should have known something was up when I stepped out the door and could see my breath at 1pm ish. Had a late start thanks to that 10pm cappuccino last night.
Imagine my surprise when I couldn’t find the Arsenale vaporetto stop:
02-DSCN2985
I didn’t need it but I do like it to be there just in case.

Wait, what’s this? A UFO on the Via Garibaldi?
03-DSCN2986
No, it’s just the seasonal assemblage of Luna Park…a kiddie playland.
04-DSCN2987
And yes, every piece including the trucks come in by boat and barge. Sorry, no pics as I wasn’t there to see that part. And they did it in the fog.
05-DSCN2988
Pretty quiet on the Via Garibaldi this afternoon.
06-DSCN2989
I meandered back home to enjoy my book and relax until time for my concert this evening.
About 6:30 my doorbell rang (yes, I have a doorbell in Venice) and this was delivered.
07-DSCN2992
Grazie mille to Guido (Guy) and Agata.

Time for my concert had arrived. While standing in what passes for a queue in Italy (mad crush outside the door) I realized that I was probably the only non local there. As in I don’t live here permanently and my primary language is English. They were all friends and family members of the group performing. Vocal Skyline. Think Glee, with an Italian accent and without the dancing.
While sitting inside waiting I was able to take some pictures…other people were and nobody told me not to.
11-DSCN3001
12-DSCN3002
13-DSCN3003
And then it was time for the concert. Lots of speaking from the podium in very rapid Italian. I didn’t understand a thing. I had already had to admit to the man sitting next to me that I did not have enough Italian to hold a conversation.
There were several times someone spoke from the podium and about the middle of the concert I did understand three words. Yvonne would be proud: Leonard Cohen Hallelujah. Yes, they sang that, they also covered Bing Crosby in a very swinging rendition of White Christmas, Cold Play, Dionne Warwick, they sang 99% in English. And then they were singing a song I remembered from last year. On a Sunday evening I had as usual thrown open the window at 6pm to listen to the bells. That particular evening the bells were playing a tune…okay probably not the regular bells…I think it’s called a clarion where they either have a person playing or they program music and it is played by bells. It was a familiar song that I remembered singing in church as a child…Catholic school girl here. (I know, that explains a lot). It was Salve Regina. And they sang the first few verses straight and then they rocked the house! Wow!
Here, yes, I took pictures during the concert with the camera held over my head. I’m sure there are some grandmothers who would pay good money for these.
19-DSCN3019
18-DSCN3018
20-DSCN3021
Ladies, I know what you want and he’s in a lot of my pictures because I had to look between two heads and he was in the center of my actual line of vision and he was so cute (from a grandmotherly perspective) and having such a good time.
24-DSCN3041
And just when I thought it couldn’t get any better they brought the tone down and were humming softly. A voice came from above. We couldn’t see her because she was behind the grill work like the girls were in the time of Vivaldi when the listeners were not allowed to see the young women.
16-DSCN3007
And I cried because I was sitting in Santa Maria Della Pieta on my birthday in the City of My Dreams and I heard an angel sing.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in City of My Dreams, Venice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What a difference a day makes….

  1. ytaba36 says:

    What an absolutely perfect birthday gift from Venice!

  2. Jan Graham says:

    Lovely flowers, your not forgotten,

  3. lizbethraab says:

    Dear Misha,
    What a beautiful day, magnificent flowers and as they always say here, “last but not least,” a beautiful concert! Thanks so much for sharing
    Ciao, Liz

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    It was a magnificent day Liz, probably the best birthday ever!

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    And I have no idea why I didn’t think to Google Vocal Skyline. Here is a video of a rehearsal of the song I mentioned above which is actually called “Hail Holy Queen”. Lots of other videos on YouTube.

    • may1787 says:

      Wow, they are good. Where were they from? Local? I’m glad that even if the commentary was in Italian that you could at least enjoy the music.

      • mvaden1948 says:

        Yes, they are local young people. The audience was full of their families. They perform all over the area. And I wouldn’t have cared it they had been singing totally in Italian. I have Italian radio on all the time and I even watch the local Italian news in the evening.

  6. mvaden1948 says:

    Turn up your speakers!
    And watch for a performance when you are in Venezia.
    http://www.spaziopenelope.it/
    This advertising is totally uncompensated by anything other than the joy they bring.

  7. Susie L says:

    Happy birthday Michelle! The description of the concert is very moving.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie Susie,
      They have another performance I think after you arrive…on December 20th. I looked up the church and it’s vaporetto stop is P. Roma. Won’t be the same as La Pieta but they are still great. They used that space to their advantage. Funny to hear those Italian young people singing in English. I didn’t really notice the accents until they did White Christmas….but Bing would have been proud of their swinging Big Band style rendition…Italian accents and all.

  8. Dan Richardson says:

    Hi Misha,
    Sorry I missed your birthday, but from the sounds of it you had a fabulous time! The pictures are great… Sure you’re continuing to have a grand adventure!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Dan,
      Don’t worry about missing the birthday. I’ve been basically celebrating since I arrived. Just being here is a celebration.
      I’m glad you are enjoying the pictures. WordPress just made me buy more storage space for them because I’ve run out of free space. I can write all I want for free but have to pay to upload the pictures…but it’s not much so I don’t mind.
      Hope all is well with you and yours.
      Misha

  9. may1787 says:

    Your last sentence made ME cry. It is beautiful what a solo trip can do for your heart and soul. The emotions that are brought up! Beautiful.
    On my trips, I have gone to many things that were only in the native language from concerts to tours. I never regret them. As long as there is a visual portion, or an auditory portion other than the talking, I’m good to go.

  10. Shelly says:

    Your last sentence made me cry too. I had a similar experience listening to the Requiem Chorale in Notre Dame Cathedral when I was in Paris. The beautiful voices swelled to the 125 ft rafters and I was overcome with emotion of living my dream of being in Paris in that amazing cathedral.

    I was in Venice in September and it was so HOT. I am a SF Bay Area gal and hate heat. What were the temperatures when you were there? I love the cold and walking around with the brisk are hitting my face!. I’d love to go back when the weather is cooler and there are fewer tourists. There is so much I relate to on this blog. I’ve attached the link to my blog about my 2 weeks in Venice.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Shelly,
      I’m so glad you are enjoying the blog and thanks for the link to yours.
      I was in Venice at the same time last year and it was frigidly cold with daytime temps in the 20’s and 30’s some days so I was prepared for it to be that cold this year and it wasn’t. Many day’s temps were in the low 50’s during the day. If you were out on the water it was colder. I could really tell the difference as I like to ride outside on the vaporetto….when you are on the Grand Canal between the buildings like around Rialto it’s not bad but the minute you leave San Marco headed for Arsenale (which was my home stop) the weather would get decidedly colder.
      If you are prepared for it the cold is perfect walking around weather and both trips there was hardly any rain. And you’ll notice in my pics….just a few feet away from the main sights and there are no tourists.
      Start planning your next visit.
      Now, I’m going to follow you link and read about you in Venice.
      Michelle

Leave a Reply

