Sunshine in My Window

01-DSCN2883
Yes, that is the view from my living room window this morning.

I decided to take a little meander up the Via Garibaldi to see what I could see.

Someone has had a lot of wine.
02-DSCN2890
I’m wearing my fur coat tonight. Maybe I can have someone take my picture. Maybe in the lobby of the Danieli?
03-DSCN2893
More decorations are up every day.
04-DSCN2895
05-DSCN2896
I read in an article about “culturally correct holiday celebrations” that Italians consider it good luck to wear read underwear on New Year’s. Hmm.
06-DSCN2897
And reviewing the picture I think someone hung the panties (thong) backwards because I think the lace is the front, it matches the lace on the bra …don’t know for sure as I have NEVER worn anything remotely resembling that.
Considering how cold it will be out there at midnight watching fireworks then walking home I think that red flannel long johns with the back flap would be more appropriate.

Little Lucky Cats in this display.
07-DSCN2898
And here are goods being delivered to the local “Super Mercato”. Yes, that pallet is being pulled by a man.
08-DSCN2899
09-DSCN2900
“Are you talking to me?” this little white ball of fluff glares at an even smaller (half the size) black ball of fluff who had the audacity to bark.
10-DSCN2903
The Ponti dei Scudi taken from my door as I’m turning the key in the lock. This is the bridge I see (and photograph) from my window.
14-DSCN2916
This afternoon I took a little trip in search of San Cassiano as once again…someplace I will need to find in the dark.

Furniture delivery, do you think he hopes it’s a dog bed?
15-DSCN2918-001
Some dazzling dances from the sun today.
17-DSCN2923
18-DSCN2925
19-DSCN2929
After some twisting and turning due to one of the calles where I should turn being closed for construction (that happens to me in that “other place” too) I found the church but as Jeff Cotton says in Churches of Venice…it’s just a big box. So I didn’t take a picture. I’ll see the beautiful interior at the concert I hope.
So I decided there should be a better way to get back from there and proceeded to follow my nose.
Okay, this is not what I had in mind when I said follow my nose.
20-DSCN2936
I only took a picture…I did not enter the store. It was hard but I resisted.
And there I was at the Grand Canal. Just look what the sun is doing to the Ca d’Oro (House of Gold).
21-DSCN2945
22-DSCN2942
And to my right, the Rialto Mercato, the hustle and bustle done for the day.
23-DSCN2944
24-DSCN2949
25-DSCN2953
I did decide that going to the church from Rialto Mercato was the most direct route for me…even if I have to walk by the chocolate shop.
This evening I had an engagement for after dinner drinks with a new friend at the Danieli.
First I went to San Marco and took pictures of the decorations which will be posted later in the “Special Christmas Edition”. Sorry…have to wait for those.
But the Danieli will give you good Christmas.
32-DSCN2975
33-DSCN2976
And here’s the celebratory cappuccino I had at nearly 10pm which is why I’m wide awake at 1:08 am doing this blog. Ah, well, it’s my birthday and I can sleep in. Actually not my birthday for another nearly 8 hours as I was born in Los Angeles, California. But I’ve been celebrating since I got here and it will continue.
It was suggested by someone on another blog that Fritelle may be early this year and I’m going to try to find some.
35-DSCN2982

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Bridges, City of My Dreams, Photography, Travel, Venice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunshine in My Window

  1. Mindy says:

    What a glorious place to celebrate your birthday!! Auguri!
    Your photos and descriptions, as usual, are fantastic. Yay you for being where you love to be and embracing every moment!! and the food! and the drinks!! and the cute cats and dogs!!

  2. biankonera says:

    Danieli. I dream of that place for whatever reason ๐Ÿ˜€ My very best wishes to you on your birthday!!! And thanks for another gorgeous walk in Venezia ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Jo says:

    Fabulous photos – happy birthday and best wishes for a wonderful Venetian Christmas! I love the “dog bed”!!!

  4. Buon compleanno, sweet lady. I’m sure you’re correct about the G-string and I can’t help but wonder if a bunch of hot-blooded Italian men started the ‘red underwear on New Year’s’ rumour. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Susie L says:

    Happy birthday Michelle! Thank you for another visual feast!

  6. Pecora Nera says:

    Happy Birthday to you. You took some great photos.

  7. mvaden1948 says:

    Yes, really pea soup fog. But at my apartment tucked away in deepest Castello I still had blue sky overhead. Imagine my shock when I walked towards the Arsenale vaporetto stop and couldn’t see it from the bridge. Lots of navigation aids being used by boats (and airplanes).

  8. lizbethraab says:

    Happy birthday, Misha!
    Hope you’ve been having a wonderful Venetian day. Amazing photos that always tell us what’s going on in Venice.
    Ciao, Liz

Leave a Reply

