A Different Perspective

I know you are getting bored with the blue skies but I really can’t do anything about it. And I wouldn’t if I could.
01-DSCN2827
A hazy shade in the photo above but the sun was lovely. Chilly because it was only 9am. Yes, 9am and I was out the door.
02-DSCN2828
I took the picture above while waiting for a cute little dog to come into range without getting his owner in the picture but she (the owner) was eyeing me suspiciously so I didn’t try it.
I’m headed here.
03-DSCN2830
I guess I walked too slowly but other tourists were there when I got there and one couple had actually stripped off their hats, scarves, gloves and jackets and were posing for pictures in short sleeved tee-shirts. Don’t they know their friends back home will see the goose bumps on their arms? I waited that group out with their junk strewn everywhere and managed to get this picture almost without a tourist. She’s behind the lamp post and barely shows…she was small.
09-DSCN2841
Yvonne says that is an excellent place to watch the fireworks on New Year’s Eve. You, me and how many other people?
There didn’t seem to be enough wind for a good sail today though.
07-DSCN2837
I meandered back around La Salute. I will go in one day when the weather isn’t quite so fine.
I love this door and would love to see the wisteria in bloom.
04-DSCN2832
11-DSCN2844
I realized that this was the hotel where I had taken a picture of their Christmas tree from the vaporetto two years in a row. If I go in and order a cappuccino they might let me take a picture from this side. But I’m not ready for a cappuccino yet…so another day. And this includes a shot for my Christmas decoration loving friend in Alaska.
12-DSCN2845
13-DSCN2846
I just wandered along here for a while.
14-DSCN2847
This balcony looks like something I would create…overflowing with plants.
15-DSCN2849
I want a doorbell like this one.
16-DSCN2850
And this family has definitely caught the Christmas spirit.
19-DSCN2853
Here is a closer look.
18-DSCN2852
I covet this terrace…oh and probably the apartment that goes with it.
20-DSCN2854
21-DSCN2855
22-DSCN2856
And the view from there, although a bit hazy this early in the day.
24-DSCN2859
I meandered back to the Accademia Bridge and caught the No.1 to Rialto Mercato where I replenished my supply of Clementine (pronounced clem-en-tee-nay) and some lovely pomodoro (should that be pomodori?). and my feet were telling me it was nearly noon and I needed to sit…so I did…on the vaporetto home.
26-DSCN2864
The other side of the Grand Canal as reflected in the windows of a vaporetto waiting area.
27-DSCN2865
A very labor intensive job….when you want to replace these you have to bring the equipment in on a barge.
30-DSCN2872
31-DSCN2873
And my friend the Lion at San Marco from a slightly different perspective. I’ve taken his picture many times but never quite from this angle.
33-DSCN2877

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, City of My Dreams, Photography, Travel, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Different Perspective

  1. Mindy says:

    I’ve just meandered with you while sitting in the tech break room in snowy Quincy, MA. You’re photos have lifted my spirit and made me smile!
    The last time I was in Venice was Oct. 2010. At the end of the Zattere where you took the lamp post photo…well, there was a statue of a boy holding a frog or a fish?? I wonder what happened to him? I hope he is somewhere safe, but he will never have a better view than when he stood at that majestic point!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Mindy,
      Glad you enjoyed it. The Boy With the Frog was moved sometime last year. I’m sure someone knows where it was moved to but I don’t have that info. It did have to have a guard all the time which can get quite expensive. The lamp post probably not so much.
      It will be a lovely place to watch the fireworks if not overrun with people. Yes, I’ll be here…with my camera.
      Stay warm.
      Michelle

  2. Bert says:

    Yvonne posted of the Boy with Frog’s demise:
    http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic-g187870-i57-k6529831-Return_of_the_lamp_Punta_della_Dogana-Venice_Veneto.html
    Rather sad that the lamp’s a replica, rather than the original.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I knew the info about the Boy with Frog was somewhere….just couldn’t dig it up out of my archives.
      And considering the people I saw out there….they wouldn’t know the fake lamp from the original. Probably safer for the lamp that way.

  3. Pecora Nera says:

    You still have sunshine???? We are buried under an avalanche of fog. Uffa!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Just checked out the window….lots of sunshine. But per the 10 day forecast you are sending us your fog. I’m sure it’s not just you and others are joining you in pushing it up here. But it does say “AM Fog” and sunny afternoons.
      I’ve taken some lovely photos of fog in Venice. Guess I will again.
      Welcome to my blog. I’ve always been the “black sheep” of my family. I say I was born to gypsies and raised by normal people.
      I’ll try to get a photo of the Scooby look alike but he moves really fast. Couldn’t capture him when I met him last year either. Too much effort to remain upright with him winding around my ankles. If I spoke better Italian I would ask his Signora his name. Funny if it was Scooby II.

  4. lizbethraab says:

    Ciao, Misha
    Just a quick message from Vienna (also very foggy these days). Am sure the snow will reach us soon – it usually blows in from across the Atlantic or south from Germany, sometime in mid-December or early January. Last year we had more than I could remember in quite a few decades.

    The posts from Venice in December are always a great bonus!
    Ciao from Liz

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Liz,
      I was just out for a while and it is lovely out there. Back in to grab a bite for lunch then back out in the opposite direction. As the saying goes…”need to make hay while the sun shines”. That may just be a US expression.

  5. Barb says:

    It’s still the 12th here in Connecticut, Michelle, but I know by the time you read this it will be a belated greeting…Happy Birthday!!

    The photo of the window with the festive decorations and the terrace you covet made me smile. That’s the palazzetto da Schio, our home away from home. Usually there are shutters at all the windows but I believe they are down and being painted. I’ll be back there February 15th.

    Your photos have been lovely. Looks like you’re exploring a lot of new territory this trip.

  6. mvaden1948 says:

    Ciao Barb,
    Yes, being able to walk makes all the difference in the world.
    No wonder the cruise ships block your view.

  7. may1787 says:

    The door swag is really festive! Thanks for posting it, if not just for me, for me too.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Can’t help it, Leah, I think of you everytime I see Christmas decorations and how much you would love them. Compared to what they do in the States there really isn’t much here.
      I have to get a picture and see if it shows up…every night the lady across the canal from me has little lanterns hanging from her clothesline in front of each window that she lights.

Leave a Reply

