Nothing But Blue Skies

In the foreseeable future according to the ten day weather report. I am not complaining.
Since the apartment faces north I leaned way out my bedroom window to make sure the sun was shining.
01-DSCN2625
On my way to the vaporetto to Rialto Mercato I took these up the calles I passed.
02-DSCN2626
03-DSCN2630
A lovely day for a ride in a gondola if you are dressed for it.
05-DSCN2634
07-DSCN2640
I thought I wanted to get a few things from Rialto Mercato.
10-DSCN2651
11-DSCN2652
12-DSCN2653
13-DSCN2654
But maybe I didn’t really need my things that badly and I’ll come back mid week when half of Venice isn’t shopping(okay, it just seemed like there were a lot of people to me).
15-DSCN2658
But I did like his bag.
14-DSCN2657
Only a few feet away from the hustle and bustle of Saturday shoppers.
17-DSCN2660
And I agreed to an engagement for after dinner drinks on Wednesday evening and realized I did not know where the Danieli was. I have lots of pictures of it but never looked at the name on the building. Am I right in assuming that we are meeting at the door by the white arched area? She reads the blog and she knows who I mean.
22-DSCN2672
This is how your get your Christmas tree home in Venice.
19-DSCN2665
Have to check to make sure the needles don’t fall off too easily.
20-DSCN2668
I offered and took a picture of them together with their camera. Wish I had gotten a better picture with mine (permission was granted) because they were real cuties, both of them.
21-DSCN2670
On my way home I remembered to check the window at Punto Casa.
25-DSCN2683
Instead of stopping at the apartment I kept going and took this from the bridge…Ponte dei Scudi …of the windows in my apartment (no…decorations are not up yet and it doesn’t seem like the neighbors are either).
26-DSCN2684
And the reason I kept going is because I needed milk so proceeded to walk about another five minutes to the grocery Punto. Here it is…see the green sign…that’s by the door.
27-DSCN2686
Later this evening on my way to meet Caroline and Phil. I took the winning photo of the day.
30-DSCN2704
On the vaporetto on the way home a little after 7pm I realized that if I’m going to be out after sunset I do need to break out the heavier long underwear, the fur coat, the fur hat and the glove liners because it was downright chilly. Funny, in the warmth of new friends we sat outside to enjoy our drinks.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, City of My Dreams, Photography, Travel, Venice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Nothing But Blue Skies

  1. biankonera says:

    Another gorgeous day in Venezia. So happy for you 🙂

  2. Sue says:

    How I enjoyed this latest installment! It was as if I was there. I felt as if my breath were taken away! That’s how I feel in Venice, and reading of your wanderings and enjoying your photography made me feel as though I was there.

    You made my day and I thank you.

    Sue

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    Grazie to Yvonne for emailing me the identity of the man and boy with Christmas tree. They are both real sweeties. Yvonne too of course.

  4. lizbethraab says:

    Dear Misha,

    Sounds as though you had yet another glorious day in Venice and what a great mix of pix to enjoy!

    The market looked pretty crowded. I was actually looking for one of those trolleys/wheelies yesterday, but will have to go to IKEA, but not for one of those or a Christmas tree. That has to be my favourite picture.

    We definitely need warm clothese here, the winter sun doesn’t bring much warmth, but at least there’s a little sunshine, compared to intermittent snow and strong winds yesterday.

    You bring the magic of Venice to those of us who, for one reason or another, can’t manage to get there – grazie, Misha!
    Have a lovely Sunday
    Liz .

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    I just read a lovely post about the boy with the Christmas tree on the vaporetto and “his” red hand truck. Please check it out on his father’s blog:
    http://veneziablog.blogspot.it/2013/12/of-practical-beauty-in-venice-and.html?showComment=1387093626077#c2451134068022572618

  6. may1787 says:

    The colors in that last photo are really lovely.
    And man, that holly really gets me in the holiday spirit.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      That holly was getting everyone in the holiday spirit and selling really well.
      I was so happy to capture those colors in the sky….in the last picture. It was amazing…it is not touched up that is exactly how it looked.

Leave a Reply

