Spending Too Much for Cappuccino

There was a bit of commotion outside my window this morning.
01-DSCN2430
As I watched I realized he was moving his boat so that this much larger boat could pass…note: the water was pretty high so getting under the bridge was a tight squeeze.
03-DSCN2433
Then he rowed his red boat(note: it matches his pants) back and seemed to take tools into the house across the canal…climbing over the other boat to do it.
05-DSCN2438
While waiting for the vaporetto to take me to Rialto Mercato I struck up a conversation with a woman and her little dog. The senora spoke no English but with my broken Italian I discovered the dog’s name is Peggy and I think she said Peggy was 17 years old….maybe not…numbers beyond 10 are not my strong suit. Peggy was cute in her little red “hoodie” as we call them in the States. I met up with them again later and got a picture.
But first another blue sky day.
06-DSCN2440
On to the Mercato where I got clementine, mele and…unfortunately did not know the word for broccoli (wouldn’t you think that is Italian? It’s not) but managed to point and get it. Wandered around and took some fish pictures. I may go back and get some “salmone” later. It looked really good.
08-DSCN2461
09-DSCN2462
And here’s Peggy!
10-DSCN2469
And another canine friend…”I am not baggage but it beats getting stepped on”.
11-DSCN2473
Wait! Wasn’t that my stop?
12-DSCN2471
Aren’t they a lovely couple? So romantic with their heads together bent over their individual (not so ) Smart Phones.
13-DSCN2475
Fur coats are out in full force. I have mine with me but it’s still way too warm to wear it for me. Later, you’ll see me in mine later.
Here’s one and she also has a fur purse:
14-DSCN2478
I love these boots. They just sparkled and flashed as though she had some kind of battery pack but it was just the sun. And my camera didn’t like it….probably needed to be on the fireworks setting.
15-DSCN2480
16-DSCN2482
Candy Canes? No, they’re this color all year round.
17-DSCN2485
I think I mentioned that marine paint sale on shades of purple the other day:
18-DSCN2489
And now to Piazza San Marco where it is beginning to look a lot like Christmas (with a nod to Yvonne who gave me a heads up or I would not have gotten these great shots of my favorite lions):
20-DSCN2494
21-DSCN2493
22-DSCN2496
23-DSCN2498
Hey, you, yes, you in the funny orange pants…do you think my butt’s a coat rack?
25-DSCN2500
At least it’s not a tourist trying to ride me.

Meandering back along the Piazza I decided to go ahead and take the plunge and pay too much for cappuccino. Blame it on the noon bells…they just went to my head.
26-DSCN2505
30-DSCN2512
The green stuff in the cornetto is pistachio cream. Yum!
29-DSCN2511
It was worth every cent of the 14 Euros because there I was; sitting in the sun watching the world pass by in the greatest drawing room in the City of My Dreams.
33-DSCN2517

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, City of My Dreams, Photography, Travel, Venice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spending Too Much for Cappuccino

  1. VisitSiena says:

    never too much 🙂

  2. Sue Merritt says:

    Many thanks for letting me start this day in Venice! It is beyond words how much I look forward to hearing about your travels.

    Sue

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. lizbethraab says:

    Indeed, Misha! You really deserve this special holiday, to do whatever you want, in your own time. And not least for all the planning that has gone into making sure your plans fall into place.

    I stayed in Cannaregio “around the corner” from the Billa you wrote about. .
    And we are lucky to enjoy each day’s meadering with your amazing photos. Brings back some lovely memeories. Am especially missing the sunshine :).
    Ciao, Liz

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Yesterday I kept going past that Billa and past the apartment where I stayed the first time and just meandered in a (when I look at the map) long loop. I figured whatever I did I’d end up back in Castello eventually.
      Glad you are enjoying my meandering and that it’s bringing back memories of your time in Venice….and hopefully inspiring others to come here.

  4. lizbethraab says:

    PS: I chuckled at the red trousers and loved the Malteser (?) – those big dark eyes reminded me of Gismo …
    Liz

  5. Mindy says:

    Never in my life have I seen a cornetto filled with pistachio cream. I am in love!!

    Laughed out loud about your comment of the guys coat draped over the lions butt. You’re funny.

    €14,00….well worth it….and more!!!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Glad I can keep you entertained Mindy. Way back when I was in my early 20’s my grandmother (who lived a long distance away and didn’t see me often) thought I was so funny that I should be on TV and give Carol Burnett a run for her money. Nope, really I’m not that funny but I have my moments. Especially when it comes to putting words in the mouths of inanimate objects…or animals.:-)

  6. may1787 says:

    Oh my. That cornetto looks lip smackingly delicious. Was it as good as it looks?
    And those pooches are adorable. I always wondered how some people kept their white dogs so white. Whenever I see them, mostly anyway, they have brown stains around their eyes and mouth.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Yes, Leah that cornetto tasted just as good as it looked. It is really hard not to go back for another one. I haven’t seen those anywhere else but I’m sure they are around.
      My parents had a white dog just like the one on the vaporetto….sitting on the luggage rack and in between visits to the “poodle parlor” he would have those brown stains too. Lots of shampooing is what keeps them white.

Leave a Reply

