Lunedi Meandro

I am more than certain that my Monday Meander isn’t really written like that in Italian but…I’m trying.
I wrote to some friends that I must have Venetian blood because this morning when I was lying in bed trying to decide if I was getting up I could hear the water in the canal and thought “the water sounds really high.” My bedroom windows have shutters so it isn’t easy to look out without physically getting up and opening the window and then opening the shutter…I’m sure you get the picture.(Note to landlord…that is not a complaint…I like it that way) Anyway I did get up and putter around, fixed coffee, etc. and then thought I should look out the window. Sure enough the water was up.01-DSCN2199
High tide this morning was scheduled to be at about 9:50am and the picture above was taken at around 9:30am.
This next picture was taken this afternoon about 3:45 because low tide was to be 4:25 and it’s too dark at that time to get a good picture. I’m sure you can see the difference. There was a little water in low areas like San Marco…enough for the pigeons to bathe.
44-DSCN2328
This was not the lowest point which when I looked out at the correct time was about a foot lower (sorry for people on metric but I still think in feet and inches).

After picking up some needed things at Punto to see me through till next week and putting them away I set out on “mio meandro” about 12:45pm.
And a lovely, sunny day it was. The sky really is this shade of blue…no photo shop, no adjustment of contrast, just some cropping every once in a while.
02-DSCN2202
I had left my afternoon to fate and just took the first vaporetto that came to whichever direction. It was headed to the Lido but didn’t really want to go that far so I wandered in the Giardini for a bit. And it was a lovely day for a walk in the park.
03-DSCN2203
04-DSCN2206
05-DSCN2208
06-DSCN2210
Wandering up the Via Garibaldi for a while:
08-DSCN2215
10-DSCN2219
11-DSCN2221
Who docked my boat here? Most of my friends know that any shade of purple/lavender is my favorite along with red, teal, and leopard print. And there seemed to be lavender boats everytime I turned around this afternoon. A marine paint sale?
12-DSCN2224
Do you know how hard it is to get gulls to paddle into the sunny area when you want them to?
13-DSCN2228
And I crossed the bridge to San Pietro.
14-DSCN2229
15-DSCN2231
16-DSCN2232
I had not ventured into this area before and I love it…so peaceful and calm…at least at this time of year. And I doubt your average tourist would make it this far.
18-DSCN2235
19-DSCN2239
21-DSCN2243
23-DSCN2247
I love the way little bits of green just come out of the walls of the building. Probably not good for the wall but pretty nonetheless.
25-DSCN2257
I wonder what’s down this way?
30-DSCN2264
And there, in the middle of the picture on the first floor (Americans…read second floor…here the ground floor is the ground floor and first is the one above that) is a terrace covered with plants and the apartment where I should live when I’m here permanently. All it takes is an Italian visa, convincing the people who live there now to let me have it and…money, lots and lots of money.
27-DSCN2261
I have no idea what it looks like inside or how big or small it is but it overlooks this lovely secluded area just to the right of the picture.
28-DSCN2262
29-DSCN2263
I had been out for a while and decided it was probably time to head towards home so started following my ears to the vaporetto. Those who have been here know and recognize that sound that is like gears grinding. Not pleasant but you know it when you hear it. Here are a few things I saw along the way.

32-DSCN2272

35-DSCN2279
And I was right and there it is and there weren’t even any of those “Al Vaporetto” signs.
36-DSCN2280
I took the one in the direction of home…although any direction would have been home because I could get off at the closest stop, Celestia, but..I needed to check out something I had seen earlier in the day from the vaporetto near the Arsenale. And it was just such a lovely day, not cold at all but still needed the coat and turtleneck sweater that I decided to get off at Biennale and walk the rest of the way home. Some more things that intrigued me.
38-DSCN2303
No tourists! I’m not a tourist, I’m a traveler and there is a major difference.

And here is what had intrigued me earlier in the day. Sunlight playing on these colors.
40-DSCN2317
41-DSCN2318
42-DSCN2319
And my money is on number 3.
43-DSCN2325

A domani a tutti!

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Bridges, City of My Dreams, Gardens, Photography, Travel, Venice and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lunedi Meandro

  1. Sheila Bosch says:

    Another lovely day. Thanks, Misha!

  2. Mindy says:

    “No tourists! I’m not a tourist, I’m a traveler and there is a major difference”.

    I ADORE your very wise words!!

    I am very much enjoying meandering about with you. Your writing style is wonderful and your photos bellissima!!

    Dreaming of Italy while sitting at a computer in Quincy, MA

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Mindy,
      Just wait till you see my shots of the outer reaches of Cannaregio today…and a few closer to Rialto. Talk about no tourists. Wow!
      And another gorgeous day in the low 50’s here in Venezia. I did put my gloves on for the walk home from the Arsenale vaporetto stop. Then had to take one off when I stopped to pet a cat. I think it’s the same one that I petted the other day and that I got a better shot with “il gattino” looking directly at the camera.

  3. may1787 says:

    “I’m not a tourist, I’m a traveler and there is a major difference.” I think I’ve said this EXACT thing when I was speaking about Venice. There is totally a difference!
    Oh, and I love those colorful boats.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I think a tourist is someone who travels and ticks off boxes on a list to be able to say “I’ve been there and done that”. A traveler goes and enjoys the journey and mostly does not have an agenda to fulfill. I have no “must see” items. I’m just reveling in being here.
      I’m so glad I went back and got those colorful boats. I have been by there several times since and they are gone.

Leave a Reply

