Return to the City of My Dreams

After nearly a year of planning and waiting I have returned to my beloved Venezia. I arrived yesterday November 29. My flights went smoothly without delays. We were treated to a magnificent display of the Northern Lights near Iceland on the way from Seattle to Amsterdam. I had never seen them “for real” before. No delays in Amsterdam and the flight landed in Venice 25 minutes early. Because I was early I dawdled getting off the plane and let all of those people in a rush go ahead of me and when I got to baggage claim there was my bag. With the help of a young Venetian who now works in Fargo (of the movie fame) who was home for the holidays I got a cart for my bags and he bought a Euro (he only had American money with him) from me and I was off on the walk to the Alilaguna. Wow getting a cart and pushing it was worth that Euro…so much easier than dragging the bags.
And then I was at the Arsenalle being met by my landlord Guy and led back home.
On my way to Punto I had to stop and take a view from my bridge. The first of many I’m sure.
01-DSCN1982
An evening stroll to the vaporetto on my way to Karen and Mike’s for dinner and catching up.
02-DSCN1984
I know there are people, friends even, who do not understand my mad passion for this magical city but I just cannot put into words the unutterable joy that just stepping onto the vaporetto last evening brought me. I’m so glad to be home.
Today was a lazy day since I didn’t sleep on the plane and although I was in bed early (about 9:30) I was wide awake at 3am, had some cookies (Grazie, Guy) and milk and managed to get back to sleep and pretty much slept until my alarm went off at 8:30am. Yes, I set the alarm. I didn’t want to sleep through my first full day back.
It was a slow start as I eased into my current life. I was finally out the door at 12:45 and took the vaporetto to Rialto to buy my pass for December. She was on the phone while assisting me so I really couldn’t ask about switching to the new VeneziaUnica card but I will ask another time. And before I forget to mention…when you have the Imob, the Alilaguna is 8 Euros one way instead of 15! Quite the savings.
Here are a few more pictures from today…some of which will go into an album of “I wonder where this leads” and others I just found interesting.
04-DSCN2000
14-DSCN2021
24-DSCN2045
This was one of those pictures but it has so many interesting individual elements, the bridge, the lion, the gondolas, the street lamp and last but not least, the fresco on the building.
27-DSCN2063
And please, if you know where they lead, don’t tell me. I want to find out for myself someday.
This was something truly unusual that I had never seen before: an empty vaporetto looking for all the world like he was turning down a side canal but actually turned completely around….in the middle of the Grand Canal!
15-DSCN2023
16-DSCN2024
17-DSCN2025
And I think this tells us what’s going on…can’t find it in my Italian dictionary…
Maybe something about training or practice?
18-DSCN2026
My dictionary shows Corsa as “race, ride or trip” but the word bis is not listed…but wait…I have a whole library of dictionaries available to me here and I just looked it up. It says “bis” means encore. Hmm, he was so good at this “trip” that someone asked him to do it again?

The Missing Madonna …a case for Guido Brunetti? Probably not as I’m sure he has more important problems to solve.
29-DSCN2094

Lastly for this post, a stop on the Ponti de L’Arco to take a picture of the view before continuing to Calle Dei Scudi, making a left turn and heading for home.
30-DSCN2096

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day, Bridges, Photography, Travel, Uncategorized, Venice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Return to the City of My Dreams

  1. Susie L says:

    Lovely. I am so happy you are back, so that I may follow along!

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    Susie,
    Aren’t you coming in December or is that another Susie? We should meet for coffee or a spritz.
    Michelle

  3. Sue says:

    Looking forward to reading every word you write. Don’t think I will get back to Venice soon, but I can do it vicariously through you. Thanks so much for bringing back some wonderful memories.

    Fondly, Sue

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    Grazie Sue,
    I hope to inspire memories for some and maybe future dreams for others.
    Ciao, ciao,
    Michelle

  5. biankonera says:

    Thats so wonderful to see that Venezia greeted you with sunshine – always a good sign in my book. As you know I perfectly understand your mad passion for the most special city there is and Im sure you will enjoy every moment of being there. 🙂
    Buona serata!
    Eva

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Eva. I hope to meet you here one day. Although not easy for you I’m sure, but it’s not as far for you to here as it is for me.
      But if it is in the stars I will be living here someday.
      The people who don’t understand are the ones mostly who wouldn’t dream of coming here to begin with….like my sister.

      • biankonera says:

        If they hadn’t cut the direct flights to Venezia in winter due to lack of passengers (its not Milano after all), Id be there right now. 🙂
        As for those who dont understand – they have no idea what they are missing.

  6. Mindy says:

    I look forward to following along as you get lost in magical Venezia!!

  7. mvaden1948 says:

    Welcome, Mindy. I hope you enjoy my meanderings. My camera seems to have a mind of her own and you never know where she is going to take me.

  8. ytaba36 says:

    Welcome home! The mystery vaporetto is a Numero 2. On one of their routes, they only go as far as Rialto, you saw them make the U-turn to head back. Corso Bis means extra trip. (Just as an aside, biscotti means twice cooked!)

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, that is what Karen came up with too. I was just surprised that it had absolutely no passengers. I guess they dump them all out before they turn around since the tickets are only good in one direction.
      And yes, I’m awake at a weird hour. I’ll go back to sleep soon.

      • Gorgeous scenes, Misha, and thanks to dear Y, now I know why biscotti is called biscotti. 🙂 I know you’ll be treasuring every moment you’re home. Looking forward to seeing Venice through your eyes again.

  9. mvaden1948 says:

    Eva,
    Delta Airlines cancelling what I had considered a more desirable flight actually worked in my favor as I was originally booked from Seattle to JFK in New York and then on to Venice (allowing the overnight flight to land in Venice) but they changed their schedule. And a big storm hit the country delaying flights in and out of JFK just prior to my departure. The travel gods were looking out for me as I flew Seattle to Amsterdam and then on to Venice.
    I have no doubt that we will meet here. After all since we share the love of “The Night Circus” our meeting is inevitable.
    Michelle

  10. mvaden1948 says:

    Ciao Shell,
    It’s so funny that since I started this blog in the Seattle area it shows the time of all of the posts from everyone and believe me you are all from around the world as Pacific Standard Time. Oh, maybe my computer doesn’t understand that it’s in Italy. And I just reset the time so at least it might show the posts as Venice time.
    I did know the part about biscotti being twice baked because I read a recipe and decided it was easier to buy them.;-)

  11. lizbethraab says:

    Ciao, Misha,.
    So nice to get your first message & blog from Venice! I tried to post earlier but it didn’t work. I changed my settings and hopefully. it goes through now.
    Wonderful to read about Venice again. Love those pictures with reflections on the canals, you get the same thing in Amsterdam, too.
    Enjoy being home again!
    Ciao, ciao
    Liz

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Liz,
      Just about to publish a post from today.
      Unfortunately all I’ve seen of Amsterdam (other than pictures and movies) is the inside of the airport….someday I’ll visit…along with visiting you in Vienna. Get those dancing horses ready for me in a couple of years.

  12. mvaden1948 says:

    I would really like to thank all of the people who took the time to explain “Corsa Bis” to me. Both here and in email.
    I now really understand why in my college French classes the professor would not allow us to use dictionaries when he asked us to write something. Other wise we would end up with a “breast of underpants” in our bedroom. Hmm, yes, that is what happens when you look up “chest of drawers” in a French/English dictionary. No….it wasn’t me. I follow instructions. Most of the time anyway.

  13. may1787 says:

    I wish I were right there with you! I can’t wait to see your photographs of December festivities. I loved the photos of the holiday decorations last time. I am so jealous of your visit. I don’t know if you want it, but I hope you get snow so I can see some more lovely photos of Venice in the snow.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Leah,
      It’s a tad warm for snow here and the 10 day forecast is more of the same. 50 degrees…some days high 40’s. Down to freezing at night. But perfect meandering weather.
      Yes, I’d love to see Venice in snow but will take what Mother Nature gives me. I’ll be here till January 2 so you know how the weather can change.
      They put the tree up and lit it in San Marco so I hope to get some shots of it when I’m down there Wednesday night. But I don’t really do Christmas till after 12/12…my birthday comes first.

Leave a Reply

