Reflections

It’s hard to believe that it is just under five years ago that I traveled to Venice for the first time. I thought I knew what to expect. What I didn’t expect was to fall so madly in love that I now refer to it as “The City of My Dreams”. I had a list of places in the world I wanted to visit with a year assigned to each. Once I experienced Venice the others went on the back burner.
I’d like to share with you a series of reflections from that first trip the end of October 2008.
DSCN1319

DSCN1402

DSCN1421

DSCN1412-001

DSCN1522-001

Mirrored scaffolding reflects the palazzo across the Grand Canal

Mirrored scaffolding reflects the palazzo across the Grand Canal

And in only 114 days, 8 hours and 58 minutes I’ll be there!

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel, Venice. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Reflections

  1. Susie L says:

    Beautiful photos and I am glad you are nearing your return to your beloved Venezia!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Susie.
      Will you be there in December? If I remember correctly you are part of that “bad crowd” from our friend in Australia.
      Would love to meet up if you are there.

  2. Karen says:

    Stunning photos!!! Any of these the result of a walk with Mike on your photo tour that year?? you do have a great eye. Keep ticking off days 🙂

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Picture number 2 was taken while I was with Mike on our photo tour. Picture number six was taking from the vaporetto on the way to meet him.
      My other upcoming important date is November 22….my last day at the office…ever!

  3. Sue says:

    What can I say…..these pictures are magical; they tug at my heart! Each so beautiful in their own way. If I had to pick my favorites, they would be numbers 3, 4 and 6.

    I will be there with you on this trip, if only in my dreams.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and photographs.

    Sue

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Sue!
      I’ll be happy to take you along with me in December.
      Those are pretty much my favorites too. Sometimes I don’t realize what I’ve got till I upload it to the computer and can take a really good look.

  4. Jan Graham says:

    Better late than never only just found these, lovely

  5. lizbethraab says:

    Hi Misha, I especially lilke the last one, of the reflections. Did my first work at the new office today. Still exhausted from the move, but it’s the weekend and I am taking Monday off.
    Happy counting and hope everything goes smoothly for you,
    Curious which other cities were in your travel basket?
    Liz

  6. lizbethraab says:

    PS sry, that should be “like” …

  7. mvaden1948 says:

    Ciao Liz,
    Glad you’re getting settled in the new office. Hope things have cooled off a bit in Vienna.
    I’ll send you a nice, long email over the weekend.
    M

Leave a Reply

