Opening Day

Here in the Seattle area the first weekend in May is opening day of boating season. The way things usually go here it is cool if not cold, windy and often very, very dreary. People make up for this with the combination of boats and booze and it is one big party over on the log boom in Lake Washington.
This year the fates have granted us fine weather. In fact today is predicted for 80+ degrees. Those of you in Celcius land…think 28! Extremely warm for here. And the sky is so very blue. Put that together with the beautiful blue water and you have a very lovely day indeed.
Since I had to run a little errand to the grocery store I decided to take my camera to the Des Moines Marina just a short drive south of where I live. It wasn’t as busy as I expected as most of the people are probably over enjoying the party on the lake but here are some lovely pictures from my little part of Puget Sound.
Some visitors from the north.
DSCN1661

DSCN1663
DSCN1662

Sailing the Sound

And a few locals enjoying the sun.
DSCN1674

But as lovely as this is….it’s 205 days till I’m back in my beloved Venezia!

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Beautiful Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Opening Day

  1. mvaden1948 says:

    And Monday while I was at work we had “record breaking heat”…87 degrees. That is hot for summer here….not to mention the beginning of May.

  2. Sue says:

    Never having been to Seattle, I know very little about that area. I was amazed at the snow-covered mountains, so beautiful. Thank you for sharing part of the west coast with me.

    Sue

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    Sue,
    Those are the Olympic Mountains to the west. To the east we have the Cascades. Yes, we have water, mountains and if you go east over the Cascades we have desert! And we pay for all that green with a lot of rain. Wish I could have gotten the beautiful shot of Mt Rainier but there was no place to pull over where I had a good view. You’ll just be driving along a normal road and there it sort of pops up…seemingly out of nowhere. It all depends on the lay of the land.

  4. Liz says:

    Hey Misha, those are really beautiful pix – would love all that water! Here the rain seems never-ending. I thought I had posted before, I don’t know why it didn’t work the lat time.
    Wish you a lovely Sunday, Liz

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Liz,
      I think sometimes if you haven’t commented in a while it sends it to spam, although I didn’t find it there.
      Thanks for your comment. So glad you had a lovely time in Venice. I know we will meet there someday.

  5. Jan Graham says:

    Late as usual but it looks great

  6. mvaden1948 says:

    Jan,
    At least the pictures remind me of how beautiful it is when we are back to gray skies and rain.

Leave a Reply

