It’s here! It’s here!

DSCN0390I had lunch today with some old friends. Many of you know them too. I joined the Brunetti family for a home cooked meal. Unfortunately since I was reading about theirs in Donna Leon’s latest book I had to be satisfied with my yogurt and apple instead of tasting Paola’s cooking or engaging in their spirited word play.
“The Golden Egg” was released today and since I pre-ordered it in January it was on my Nook this morning.
On my walk along Calle d l'Arco...the door was open....
Although I’ve been spending time with them on Saturday evenings for a couple of months now it is nice for them to not be speaking German. One of my local TV channels carries the MHZ International Mysteries and Drama and runs the Brunetti series on Saturdays. I’ve become accustomed to the man who plays Guido, the second of the two who have played him…he’s quite entertaining actually. And I love the woman who plays Paola. The woman who plays Elettera not so much….she just looks and acts both too German and too school girlish….like she has a crush on Guido.She is not at all like the woman described in the books. I also find the fact that Vianello has been demoted from Inspector to sergent to be disappointing. The character of Guido’s boss Patta has been made into somewhat of a laughing stock…not the supposed suave Sicilian of the books. But since I really watch it to see my beloved Venezia, do I really care? Not a bit. It does tend to give good Venice.
Not crossing this bridge

Only 240 days until I return to the city of my dreams!

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s here! It’s here!

  1. mvaden1948 says:

    And if you are a friend who is trying to email me about this post…my email is currently down. Not sure what the problem is with Google but they are giving me fits. Haven’t been able to access email and some other sites this evening at all. I’ll let you know when I’m back. Funny, earlier it wouldn’t let me post but now it did. I may have to call “those people” …the tekkies…tomorrow.

  2. Karen says:

    This stinks. amazon isn’t releasing The Golden Egg until April 4!!!!

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    Only one more day! You’ll love the dinner conversation in the first chapter. It’s been a year and I’d forgotten how delightful Leon’s wordplay is.

  4. jan Graham says:

    You lovely ladies wish your lives away only 240 days Misha enjoy life in the meantime,

  5. Andrew says:

    I don’t know why there has never been an English version of the books. I always enjoy them and, being a sad venetophile, I usually have a map of the city next to me to follow the routes they take. I know – I should get out more.

  6. mvaden1948 says:

    Andrew,
    That’s an excellent idea about the map. I sort of do it in my head. But I am also one of the Venetophiles. And I only get out more when I’m in Venice.
    In her book “No Vulgar Hotel” Judith Martin describes a Venetophile as someone who while watching a film set in Venice wants the actors to move because they are blocking the view of Venice. That’s what I feel like watching the series. Which makes it really hard to read those subtitles and I don’t speak German.Since they don’t use the real Questura and also other sites that aren’t really what they say I’m always trying to figure out exactly where they are. The site they use for the Questura is only about a two minute walk from the apartment where I stayed in Castello. And I noticed that a few doors in the other direction the name by the door bell says “Vianello, L.”. Yes, I know that he is a figment of Donna Leon’s imagination and that Vianello is a common name there but it was still fun to notice since in the books he does live in Castello.
    I would have the same problem if the program was in Italian because my Italian isn’t good enough…but I’m working on that.

  7. Andrew says:

    Next week Misha and we’ll be there!. We’re meeting up with Yvonne for the first time and that is exciting. When you’re there next we’ll try to join you for an afternoon.

  8. mvaden1948 says:

    Hurray for you! You will love Yvonne. She has even been to visit me in Seattle, WA.
    I’d love to meet you. I’ll be there November 29 to January 2 this year. Staying in the same Castello apartment as last time.

  9. Your photos are lovely, Michelle. Close your eyes and Venice is only a heartbeat away… I’m sitting here listening to my Chris Botti channel on Pandora and thought of you. Thank you so much for introducing me to Pandora, bella! Hugs to you and Lili.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Shell-Mimi!
      I think of you when I listen to my Chris Botti channel too. Isn’t that a delightful connection.
      Yes, November 29 will be here before I know it and I will be back in the City of My Dreams.
      Hugs to you and your furry ones also.

  10. It’s interesting to see how foreigners enjoy Venice. I’m from that area but I’ve been living in Cape Town for a couple of years and whenever I read posts like that I feel a bit at home. And that’s also one of the reason I started my own blog about Treviso and its province. If you haven’t visited it yet, do it next time you’ll be in Venice.
    It’s a sort of little Venice.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Treviso is actually on my list to visit. I have seen pictures. Not sure I’ll make it this trip but will get there eventually.
      Yes, I fell in love with Venice my first trip in 2008….totally left my heart there.

Leave a Reply

