In Search of Spring….

The weather has been typical for this time of year, gray, fog, rain, cold, scraping ice off the car windshield. I’m longing for spring and yesterday when I came home from work on an unusual sunny day I found this in my own back yard:

So since it was predicted to be sunny and much warmer today (nearly 60 degrees!) I took my camera to the local botanical gardens. Not much happening but you can see the beginnings in the pictures below.

 

And finally a little life in one of the Iris beds

And in just a little over a month it will look like this picture I took last year:

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Gardens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to In Search of Spring….

  1. Susie L says:

    Wow, that gorgeous rhododendron is right in your own backyard? Brava!

    Thank you for the glimpse of Spring in your area. My yard has blooming cala lillies and the dreaded wild onions. Also my roses have broken dormancy!

    Keep meandering Misha!

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    And I live in a small, older but very nicely landscaped apartment complex…so share that backyard. The azaleas off my patio will be in their full purple glory in about six weeks or so. I’m itching to get to the garden center for my pots but I know it’s too early yet.

  3. Sue Merritt says:

    Each Spring the budding of the plants seems like such a miracle. The only color in my very small front garden area so far is from six yellow crocus blooms. But I can see greenery from the daffodils and tulips starting to sprout. I am anxiously awaiting the plethora of color that will come from the spreading phlox.

    I was surprised to see your azalea in full bloom. Is it not a bit early in the season for that. Or is that typical in the Seattle sees?

    Thanks for sharing.

    Sue

    Sent from my iPad

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    Hi Sue,
    Yes, I thought it was a bit early but there is another one on the property as I drive in also. And the rose bush had one blossom all winter. Of course they have planted a few primroses a couple of weeks ago.
    Of course there were all those window boxes full of cyclamen …a houseplant here …in December in Venice. I bought one when I came back here but it didn’t last.

  5. jan Graham says:

    A lovely touch of spring Misha, I have rhododendron’s but a long way off
    good because it is blowing a icy gale out there
    Jan

  6. Andrew says:

    Snow here in UK. I hate it.

  7. mvaden1948 says:

    I don’t blame you, Andrew. I would hate it here too.

  8. Sartenada says:

    Wonderful photo. In Finland we have full winter, but I do not hate winter. For example it is a great joy to walk on lake’s ice!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I don’t “hate” winter either but we don’t get the kind of winter you do. Ours tends to just be messy and wreck havoc because we get snow and ice once in a while no one knows how to deal with it. And our days are mostly gray.

Leave a Reply

