My Favorite Holiday!

Yes, the favorite holiday of this incurable romantic is Valentine’s Day.

Like many holidays it is reported to have it’s origins in ancient Roman fertility festivals and involved a sacrificial goat. I’m so glad goats are no longer giving up their lives for this day. Later it became a celebration of St. Valentine. Yes, there really was a St. Valentine, a monk who as the legend has it in the 3rd century performed secret marriages when the Roman emperor declared young men could not marry because single men made better soldiers. Better at raping and pillaging I guess.
San Valentino was imprisoned and tortured for his acts and the legend also says that just before he was beheaded he sent a message to his friend signed “il tuo Valentino.” Lovers sign their notes like that to this day.

Leave it to the Italians to make this a really special day where it is “il giorno della festa degli innamorati”: the day of the feast of the enamored. Not nearly the commercial day it is in the U.S. where greeting card companies have made it almost a crime not to send cards to everyone you know, no matter your age or relationship. I remember Valentines being banned in my grade school because they didn’t want it to be a popularity contest…who got the most.

As shown by my photos here I love the love locks I saw and photographed in Venice. And would you believe, you can add a virtual love lock to a bridge in Italy? Yes, you can…here is the link:
http://www.lucchettipontemilvio.com/

Or better yet you can send a virtual chocolate kiss…a Baci Perugina to your loved one:

http://www.baciperugina.ca/notes.php

And the most colorful of the love locks found on my last full day in my beloved Venezia…

And here I share with you my favorite Valentine of the very few I have received from men. Yes, few because most of the men who have entered my life over the years were not incurable romantics like me. My dear departed husband found Valentines and flowers a waste of money. Unfortunately it took him 12 years…most of our marriage…to understand how important flowers (and Valentine’s Day) were/are to me. He probably would have found a month in the City of my Dreams also a waste of money but would have loved it once he got there. No, it wasn’t him who sent me this card. It was a dear friend, never my lover or husband. He is also gone now. But his delightful card I have kept all of these years….since Valentine’s Day 1992…

Such a charming little mouse. The card says “Be My Valentino”. Byron (not the one you are thinking of) would have love Venice too.

Here is wishing you and your loved ones a very, very Happy Valentine’s Day!

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Favorite Holiday!

  1. jan Graham says:

    And a lovely Valentines Day to you Misha,

  2. Bert says:

    I have to say I don’t like all the locks appearing on bridges, anywhere, especially Venice. You can see the damage they are doing to the paintwork in your photos, and they have to be removed – with a cost – when the bridges are repainted. Let them put locks on their own property if they must.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      And if you will note I did include a link to do a “virtual” lock on a bridge…as in cyberspace. …not an actual lock.
      CBS Sunday Morning Show this last Sunday had a woman doing the same comentary about not destroying the bridges.. The locks are creeping up on bridges here in the US also but I haven’t seen any…yet.
      Personally, I’d rather see a pretty engraved lock than some of the tagging with spray paint that is all over everywhere.
      Some people have no respect for property.

Leave a Reply

