Happy Hummingbird

Yes, the little fellow is one happy bird because a new feeder has been hung on the patio. I actually got it a couple of weeks ago but needed to get some pictures for the post.

Here the little creature is sitting in the tree and keeping watch.

The fancy new feeder with copper top and bottom.

These birds are very territorial and will not share with others so they spend a lot of time chasing each other away. Sorry, they move too fast so I can’t get a picture of that. But here is a shot of one sitting very close to the feeder.

Love this sillouette

Actually using the feeder

And I caught him in flight

I was asked if they overwinter here and yes they do. They were out there in our big snow storm last January. Thankfully nothing like that is predicted for this year….yet. Don’t want to use my vacation time for the weather. I’m saving that for Venice in December.

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Hummingbird

  1. ytaba36 says:

    They are such little jewels!

  2. jan Graham says:

    That’s one posh looking feeder !!

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    At least it didn’t cost as much as it looks like it did. It was only slightly more than the plastic one and it does look “posh”. And the birds seem to like it. They hang out sitting on the rim.

Leave a Reply

