Ponti dei Scudi

On the wall in my living room at what I am now calling my “other’ home is a small sign that has a quote from one of my favorite artists, Georgia O’Keeffe. It says:

It belongs to me. God told me if I painted it enough I could have it.

I’m wondering if that works with photography. In that case the Ponti dei Scudi (and the view from it) are becoming mine. It is amazing how different the same subject looks in different lights as many artists have discovered. After all I don’t think Monet ever tired of painting his waterlilies.

Here are some views of “my” bridge:

The following is my favorite…a view actually taken out my bedroom window (leaning way out) and I have already ordered a large print for my bedroom wall here…it will make a window where there isn’t one:

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ponti dei Scudi

  1. Sue Merritt says:

    How very interesting….the same bridge from so many different angles.

    Georgia O’Keefe may have been a great painter; you are a superb photographer.

    I enjoy viewing your pictures; I think some are great.

    Happy New Year a little early.

    Sue

    Sent from my iPad

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Sue,
      I have loved photography for as long as I can remember. But have been more into taking pictures myself since I took a course in college…back in the days of film and processing your own prints in the lab. Yes, chemical smells and the picture appearing like magic. I loved it. But now with digital you can take tons of pictures like I did (1028 that I kept) and it’s not having to save the money to have rolls of film developed (30 rolls from my African safari).
      Happy New Year to you and yours also.

  2. Bert says:

    If you have “Venice on Foot” by Hugh Douglas (you can read it on-line) you can find the origin of the name of your bridge. The word ‘scudi’ means ‘shields’, but the name of the bridge, he says, comes from a family of that name. In Italian there is a rule that makes it ‘degli Scudi’, but in Venetian it’s ‘dei Scudi’.

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    I did know that it means Shields. And believe me…in that neighborhood the Venetian name has priority. If I were going to live there it isn’t only Italian I would have to learn to speak (which I’m working on).

  4. Barb says:

    Lovely photos, Michelle. It’s nice to have those out-the-window photos. I do that, too! They are nice memories of the scenes you enjoyed looking at every day as well as being reminders of what you are looking forward to the next time you return.

    Wishing you a most happy New Year!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie Barb,
      I’ve been thinking of you. I know you don’t have too much longer till you return to our beloved. I also hope your snow isn’t too deep.
      All the best for the coming year. We will meet in Venice someday….hopefully in the not too distant future.
      Michelle

  5. Sandra says:

    Hello Michelle.
    Just scrolling through your wonderful photos. I am going to Venice for the month of October and hope to see some of your photos in real life. It will be my first time there so I am trying to become familiar with some of the sights.
    Keep taking your beautiful views of Venice.
    Sandra.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Sandra,
      I hope you have a wonderful time in Venice. October is a lovely month. That’s when I was there for my first visit in 2008.
      There are over 1000 pictures in my album from this 2012 trip and I’m going back for a month again this December.
      Keep in touch, I’d love to hear about your visit.
      Michelle

  6. Sartenada says:

    I really enjoyed Your gorgeous photos. To make a virtual trip thru Your photos was a great joy.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      So glad you enjoy them. I hope I manage to give pleasure to everyone. I know they please me.
      A woman asked one morning on the vaporetto what I did with all the pictures I took. I told her I look at them to remind me of my wonderful journeys.

Leave a Reply

