No White Christmas in My Neighborhood

Really, I’m not at all disappointed. I didn’t grow up with snow (born and raised in southern California) so don’t miss it. The fortune tellers (weather people) changed their minds and we only have rain.
A friend of mine is sitting in the tree off my patio gazing longingly in the window thinking he will make me take action but…no stores are open on Christmas where I can get what he needs…
a new hummingbird feeder. The old one shown in this picture was only meant to be temporary.
Funny, since I’m so used to having these tiny creatures around I never realized that they are a Western Hemisphere creature and don’t exist in the rest of the world. I have even seen some in Hawaii that are called “Bee Hummingbirds” and are about the size of my thumbnail.
Here he is in the summer:

DSCN0041

 

And you are wondering…how do I know he is a he…I have a book that shows the coloring and this is definitely a male. And we have them all year round…even in the winter. And you have never been “blessed out” until you have been “blessed out” by a hummingbird. They make a loud squawk noise. It’ very hard to describe. And much louder than you think these little creatures can make. This one is about two inches long. One evening I was outside looking at the flowers on my patio and heard a noise like a giant insect wings…but it was one of these lovely creatures just inches from my face, watching what I was doing. Now if I can just keep the neighbor’s cat away. Don’t get me wrong, I love cats, I have a cat, she is indoors and gazes longingly at the hummingbird. The neighbor’s cat is allowed out and was stalking him. I finally convinced the menace to leave my patio with a few well aimed squirts from a spray bottle of water. Very humane deterrent. 

So my plan among other things is to stop at the store that sells  lovely hummingbird feeders. Hmmm I guess I could check my favorite hardware store here.

On another note…this was my first day back to work since my month in the city of my dreams.  I’ll bet you know where I wished I was instead.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

