Buon Natale

I want to wish my friends around the world a very Merry Christmas. I know for some of you it is almost over and for others the 25th is just arriving. It will be here in just about nine hours.

Here is my favorite Christmas decoration picture from Piazza San Marco. 

DSCN1288

 

The weather people in Seattle are still predicting a huge storm and low land snow (which means me) for tomorrow morning …turning to rain in the afternoon. “If” it happens I’ll post pictures. Heck, I’ll go ahead and show you what it looked like outside my window last year:

Those poor hedges still haven’t recovered from the weight of the snow.

That was last January when the roads were so icy they closed down my office for three days…and I work in public service for the State of Washington. First time in the nearly 24 years I’ve worked for them that I wasn’t expected to risk my life (or at least the insurance deductible on my car) and come to work in a mess like that. Hopefully if we do get it, it won’t last because unlike some other major cities…they just don’t have the equipment (read snow plows) to deal with it here. And unlike Venice they are afraid to put salt on the roads for fear of harming the fish of Puget Sound. Come on people…they swim in salt water all the time.

Yes, snow for Christmas will be lovely because I can sit inside sipping hot chocolate and watching it. I have enjoyed watching the little birds flitting around in my tree that lost its leaves while I was gone.

In case you are wondering, yes, I have gone grocery shopping since I’ve been “home” but it’s not nearly the adventure here. I know exactly where the sugar is kept. And it’s nowhere near the wine;-)

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Buon Natale

  1. Sue says:

    Merry Christmas Eve Misha. We had family over to celebrate…I had an Italian antipasto, lots of shrimp cocktail and a nice hunk of provolone. and a full-bodied red wine. did I ever tell you I am half Italian?

    When our guests opened the door to leave, we were excited to see snow gently falling. guess Santa and his reindeers will be happy!

    Enjoy the rest of the holidays.

    Sue

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    I will sue and you and yours also.

  3. Kathleen says:

    Happy Christmas, Michelle. I hope you and Lili have a lovely day!!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Happy Christmas to you and yours also, Kathleen. Just had lovely email from Karen describing the San Marco midnight bells followed by the ones in S. Elena where they live now. Made me feel like I was there.

  4. Deborah says:

    Thank you so much for your wonderful blog Michelle. I have so enjoyed reading it! Merry Christmas from Australia.

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    And for anyone who may be wondering….the big storm dumped quite a bit of snow on other areas but not where I live…which is a good thing. It has rained all day and stayed gray…a typical Pacific Northwest Christmas.
    Wish I was in Venice!

Leave a Reply

