An Amazing Journey

Sadly this will be my last post from Venezia for a while. The water taxi is booked to take me to the airport tomorrow morning.

It has truly been an amazing month in my favorite place in the world. I feel more “at home” here than anywhere on the planet and will do everything in my power to take up permanent residence.

I’m so glad to have been able to take all of you along for the ride. My wonderful and supportive internet friends from around the world.

There are certain people who need to be thanked by name as they really have gone out of their way to make this the best birthday ever.

Karen and Mike Henderson, you both have become wonderful friends. Thank you for your time, your caring, your humor and supporting me in my dreams. I was so glad to meet up with you again and deepen our budding friendship.

Guy, host and landlord extraordinaire and hopefully new friend! Your patience with some of my really stupid questions (I’m thinking of one regarding the faucet/tap in the kitchen), your caring, kindness, your playfulness and humor, your incredible suggestion for my birthday dinner. If I could give you a 10 star review I would.  And yes, the answer to the question on the review form…would I recommend this apartment to a friend, a resounding yes, would I stay here again. I’ve already told you I want to live here. Grazie Mille! (I know you probably never really write it like that in Italian but I think you understand my enthusiasm).

Okay, enough words…here are some final pictures…some Christmas and just some things that interested me around San Marco earlier today:

Crescent moon over the “tree” in my campo

Rialto Bridge…like I need to tell any of you that

For the people who complain that there are no benches in Piazza San Marco…walk around the corner towards the San Marco vaporetto, past the vendor stalls and into the park and you’ll find…benches and more than a little peace and quiet.

If this doesn’t say Christmas, I don’t know what does:

Never too cold for an alfresco cappuccino

I tried to get him throwing the rope but he moves too fast.

On the bridge I cross everyday, sometimes several times in one day

So glad I got the picture of this house before they started setting up Luna Park

I had a wonderful lunch with Karen and Mike in a place near their apartment. They say this is the best pizza place in Venice

Lunch was followed by a great visit at their apartment. Here is their tree

As I have said, this has been an amazing journey. So much more than a vacation. I’ve had the opportunity to settle in and feel like I live here. I’ve discovered more than a few things about myself along the way.

And you are wondering about the visit to Joseph Brodsky yesterday. In preparing for this journey I read a New York Times article about Venice in winter. It referred to his book “Watermark” which I immediately found and read (devoured should be the word). It is an ode to Venice in Winter. The season Brodsky loved and would visit his beloved Venezia at no other time. I close with a quote from his book.

In winter you wake up in this city, especially on Sundays, to the chiming of its innumerable bells, as though behind your gauze curtains a gigantic china teaset were vibrating on a silver tray in the pearl-gray sky.You fling the window open and the room is instantly flooded with this outer, peal-laden haze, which is part damp oxygen, part coffee and prayers.

Arrivederci Venezia

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to An Amazing Journey

  1. Sue says:

    So sorry you must leave. It as tho’ I have been in Venice for a month, just following in your footsteps. During a 12-month period we had to cancel two planned trips to Venice due to family illness. But following your blog kind of brought me back there! Thank you for including me in your dissertation. I loved every moment.

    Sue

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Actually thanks to funds finally being deposited into my account that I was expecting nearly a month ago I could financially afford to stay longer but…the apartment is already booked by someone else, the plane ticket and water taxi paid for and…I’m out of vacation…when I go back to “work” on 12/26 (allowing time for jet lag recovery) I will have 1.1 hours of leave available. That won’t take me much of anywhere.
      But as of 11/27/13 I will be a free woman!

  2. Sue says:

    What happens on Nov. 27 next year? Perhaps retirement?

    Sue

    • mvaden1948 says:

      That is exactly what happens. The real retirement date in the State of Washington system is 01/01/14 but if all goes well I will have enough vacation time to have the day before Thanksgiving be my last day. My supervisor has been telling me for months to wipe the smile off my face…
      But the smile was really about this trip. Now it will be about retirement. 11 months …I think I can do it.

  3. jan Graham says:

    Misha, you are making me change my mind about Venice in winter, thank you

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Jan it really is a special place at this time of year if you can deal with the absolutely frigid weather. But if you are dressed for it, you can still walk around and enjoy it here. But it is really only crazy people like me who take the outside seat on the vaporetto. The camera says I have to do it.
      Snowing in Seattle today but looks like just rain (as usual) for tomorrow.

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    I do feel sorry for the people who come here for only a day or two and it’s cold, raining or like today really foggy…but with the sun trying to come through. It was sunny in my corner of Castello first thing but then the fog moved in. But I got some nice pictures anyway.

  5. Joan says:

    Mill grazie e buona fortuna. Joan

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Do keep in touch Joan, you have my email…isn’t it nice to see the Christmas decorations above “your” apartment door?
      You had asked if I fly through NYC…no from Seattle I’m “over the pole” to Amsterdam. Most direct I can get. Actually I think it’s over Canada and Greenland. I would do the same route back but it leaves Venice at 6:25 am. My flight is at 10 am.. to Paris, on to Detroit and then Seattle. A very long haul. Guess someday I should actually stop and spend some time in Paris. Have only been through the airports…both of them.

  6. mvaden1948 says:

    For anyone who is interested, my flight leaves Venice at 10 am, Venice time. I land in Seattle at 10 pm Seattle time. Add nine hours …another 24 hours and no sleep. Ah, but I won’t be too excited to sleep on this flight.
    And I did it…got everything in the suitcases. But I didn’t buy much. I did get three more scarves today…and Silkie, I got that Venice flag. I hope I’ve put my lovely cookies from Burano somewhere they won’t be crushed.

  7. Elizabeth Raab says:

    Am trying again to post, thank you so much again for your photos. Love the one of the moon in “your campo” and the magnificent Xmas tree. Wish I could get mine to look like that.
    Wish you a safe journey
    Liz .

  8. julie says:

    I can hear Con ti partire in my head .. so sad your trip is over I’ve enjoyed every minute of it, but no worry here’s to next time, and hope you get your wish, I can visit you easily then … safe trip home Michelle x

  9. mvaden1948 says:

    Grazie, Julie,
    I am “home” now. Lili will not let me out of her site. Much more than 24 hours no sleep but…I’m not back to work till the 26th and don’t have a lot to rush around and do. But like my usual jet lag only slept a few hours and Now I’m up. I know I’ll sleep off and on throughout the day. Got in at 12:35 am Seattle time due to a flight delay in Detroit. None of the delays were weather related.
    Yes, I feel it in my bones I will be living there in the not too distant future.

Leave a Reply

