San Michele

Monday, December 17 I walked to the Celestia vaporetto stop a little over five minute walk from the apartment and took the vaporetto to San Michele. I have walked in cemeteries before in many places. I find them quiet and comforting. I’m not afraid of the dead. They cannot harm you.

I did not expect it to be such a profoundly moving experience that I am still having trouble putting it into words. Here are a selection of pictures from that visit. Mostly my favorite architectural details.

And into the Anglican area where some of the famous people are buried…Ezra Pound etc. I was looking for one grave in particular…a pilgrimage of sorts. It was mossy, overgrown, many of the graves disturbed not by the grave robbers of Egypt but by tree roots.

I had been completely alone and then I noticed a couple standing by a grave. She was weeping uncontrollably and he was holding her. I walked away and let them have their privacy. When they were gone I came back to the very well tended grave, the one I had been searching for. And I wept too. 

 

I stood there for a while and prayed and planted a kiss on his gravestone and came home.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to San Michele

  1. may1787 says:

    This was very moving. I really don’t know what I expected the cemetery of San Michele to look like, but I love the architectural features. I’ve always had a thing for cemeteries, especially historically significant ones or those with great architecture and sculpture. I find myself spending as much time at cemeteries as I do in museums, maybe more so.
    Sometimes there are just no words.

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    Grazie, Leah,
    Although WordPress shows the post as December 17 ..it was really done this morning December 18 around 6:30 am Venice time. It was still extremely difficult to try to put into words. It might never be easy.
    I think everyone should visit there at least once. If only for the peace and quiet. Like I said for me it was a visit…or a pilgrimage to the grave of Joseph Brodsky. The reason will be evident in my final post from my beloved Venezia later today.
    Note: that is my final post from here for this journey…as there will be others.

  3. Sue says:

    We visited San Michele in 2007. We were in Venice with another couple and my friend wanted to visit someplace different. So we decided on San Michele and then proceeded to have lunch in St. Elena. I found the solitude of this cemetery very moving. And, do I remember correctly, wasn’t there a very old church there? What isn’t old in Venezia?

    I also missed your blog. I was getting used to having my daily dose of Italy and missed it when it wasn’t there to greet me each morning.

    Have a safe trip back to the states…..and I have a very strong feeling you are already in the planning stages of your return.

    I will keep in touch and I send you many thanks for keeping my love for Venice alive.

    Sue

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    My friend in Seattle emailed me last evening with the address and phone number of the Italian consulate in Seattle so I can start working on my visa to live here. Yes, the next trip has been in the planning stages before this one even began.
    As of the moment the My Month in Venezia album has 997 photos…there are many you haven’t seen yet. And who knows what today will bring. Off to my favorite Punto in a few minutes for some last minute shopping (sometimes you can get the best “souvenirs” at the grocery store”) and then lunch with Karen and Mike. Karen gave me a cloth Punto bag, a jar of Nutella and a lovely Murano glass bracelet for my birthday. I’ll be carrying my lunch to work in that bag and make everyone so jealous.

  5. Karen says:

    As always, beautiful photos!

Leave a Reply

