My Night on the Grand Canal

Yesterday, Saturday December 15, was a rainy day. In the morning when I opened the window to look there were big, fat, juicy drops of rain plop, plopping into the Rio outside. I could even hear them with the window closed and considering that the only disadvantage to the double paned windows it that they muffle the sound of the church bells, that was quite loud “plopping”.

So I decided to take Karen’s advice and visit the Scuola degli Giorgio Schiavoni. It is close by and I was unlikely to get distracted on my way…one of the many reasons I haven’t spent time inside churches or museums…that and “no fotografia, Senora”. As expected sign right by the entrance…in English…no photographs. But that was okay. Although I really, really wanted to pull out my camera and use the zoom for a closer look at some of the paintings.

Back to my entrance into the building. There was a tour going on and I can be such a fake…I stood at the back and pretended to understand Italian. I did understand some words…yes, words besides Marco Polo and Napoleon. When he got to the last painting he said something that totally bypassed my brain and went straight to my heart and even though I had never heard that phrase in Italian before, I swear he said “music is the universal language”. So when he looked directly at me and asked (in three languages) which one I spoke I had to admit to English and said that I didn’t want to interrupt his tour and gladly handed over my five euros entrance fee. He even loaned me the English guide that he said I could give back when I left or purchase at that time. So I asked him “did you say at the end that music is the universal language” and he responded yes, that is exactly what he said. Okay, another sign that I am where I am supposed to be, doing what I am supposed to do. The only other language I have ever had that experience with is Persian (Farsi) when they chant Baha’i prayers in Persian and then only certain people, not always. Straight to my heart…totally bypasses my brain.

I did spend quite a bit of time upstairs, totally alone with the paintings. Sheer bliss as museums and such places in the US are usually full of chattering school children who really don’t want to be there. I did buy the book on the way out.

On my way home I got some lovely pictures near my apartment…

Looks like my neighbors put up Christmas lights…but look at that lovely reflection in the still water.

And I noticed a little something above my door…

Wasn’t that nice of them?

Later that evening since I was due for “Misha Cam” at San Marco at 7:30 pm… I had made arrangements to be standing in a certain place in view of the new San Marco web cam so my friends in Seattle could see me…in almost real time. I headed out for San Toma and the Dingo Cat Charity event.

When I got there I wasn’t sure I had the right place but…there seemed to be a lot of people milling around so I went in and asked the first person I saw “Scusi, Senora, Buona sera. Dingo?” and she said “Si, si” and found me a young lady who spoke some English. I asked her about Atilla and the Cannaregio cats but she didn’t know what I was trying to describe but she really went out of her way to try to find out for me…but still no info on Atilla.  I took this picture of drawings of the cats made by the local school children:

And since the title of this is “My Night on the Grand Canal” here are some night pictures taken from the vaporetto, around Piazza San Marco and some interesting ones taken closer to home.

I have actually named the one above “Light dancing on water”

There is a gondola in the foreground of the picture below…you can barely see it…

There is a light on the Campanile of snow flakes…this almost shows them:

Along with the gondola above this is my favorite of the evening…this is walking to the San Marco vaporetto stop along where the vendors have kiosks by the park…they were all closed up so there is no ambient light from them. There is a grill work gate to the water and the light is cast from the vaporetto waiting area:

Here is a little “On the Waterfront” moment when I got off the vaporetto at Arsenale:

Saturday night and even my favorite hardware store is closed:

Silent night…

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Night on the Grand Canal

  1. Anna says:

    Venice at night is magical. What fun!!!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      It is indeed magical. I highly recommend that everyone take a nighttime ride on the vaporetto along the Grand Canal. Last evening in the beginnings of the fog with hardly any other traffic they would glide quietly up to the stop. Normally you can hear them coming with all the grinding of their gears but there was something about night…
      as you said…magical.

  2. jan Graham says:

    The night water pictures are really beautiful

  3. may1787 says:

    These misty photos are gorgeous! I especially like your “On the Waterfront” photograph. Very mysterious and romantic at the same time. Love!

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    Just had to get a shot of that Navy uniform too. Just the right moment for the photo.
    Took some night pictures of my neighbor’s Christmas lights from the bridge last evening. Those blinking lights don’t photograph well. The decoration over my door doesn’t have lights but is lovely in the day.
    Need to make the most of the two full days I have left. I know, say it isn’t so.

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    I was really thinking Richard Gere…”An Officer and a Gentleman”…but Cary Grant will do.

  6. julie says:

    Beautiful pictures Michelle !

Leave a Reply

