Umbrellas

No pictures today. It’s been raining, not heavily but raining. And rain means umbrellas in Venice.

I currently reside and have for some time in the Pacific Northwest of the United States. (actually currently residing in a lovely apartment in Castello, Venezia, Italia…but you know that). In the Seattle area we hardly use umbrellas. We all have a lot of umbrellas. I can think of at least six that I own and pretty much point out where they are at any given time…my living room, bedroom, closet, car…my desk at work. But most of the time it doesn’t rain very hard and you don’t need one. You are just dashing from the car to the office and you’re really not going to get “that” wet.

Here it is a different story. Everyone uses an umbrella no matter how gently it is raining…even in light mist there are umbrellas. I went out yesterday without one. I will not do that again. I need it, if only for self defense.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Umbrellas

  1. Barb says:

    I like to consider using an umbrella in the calles of Venice exercise for my arms… put the umbrella up high, then down, now sideways, to the right, to the left, and then start all over again. If the calle is very narrow, I usually just give up and close the umbrella, reminding myself that I’d rather be rained on in Venice than anyplace else in the world!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I agree, rain, snow, you have it. Better in Venice than anywhere.
      But I discovered that the snow someone requested for me is going to be in the wrong place…Seattle on Wednesday…just in time for my return.

Leave a Reply

