Burano!

It was a beautiful, clear day and a trip to Burano was on the menu for the morning. I have been there before and just love the colors. It’s like walking through a box of crayons.

I walked out my door and turned right and walked to the Celestia vaporetto stop…less than ten minutes away where I took the vaporetto to Fondamenta Nove and caught the No. 12 to Burano. There was a young couple also waiting and we got to talking. They are from Shanghai, China and just finished degrees in English. So we had no trouble communicating.

The following photos I have decided to group into sections…reflections, boats, general around Burano and…cats, yes, cats.

But first the view of the day from Celestia

And as previously promised…snow on the Dolomites

Reflections

 

Boats…some categories overlap

My favorite image of the day happens to be a boat

General around Burano…that’s the couple from Shanghai in this first picture…

Burano once an island of lace makers….careful most of it isn’t made here anymore but they did drag me in out of the calle to a demonstration…but I’ve been here too long because when she asked if I spoke English I said “Si”…she asked a second time.

 

Since Tony wasn’t along to pick up the tab, I didn’t stop. Tony who you ask…well Bourdain of course.

Yes, really, hardly any tourists at all.

My friend’s favorite bakery where I purchased two bags of Bussola Buranaello, the traditional S-shaped cookies. One for Karen and one for me.

And my cat obsession…no they wouldn’t let me get close enough to pet them.

And Christmas…I almost forgot…both Burano and on my way back to my apartment…

Meanwhile back home in Castello…

And as I was crossing the Ponti dei Scudi a young woman taking pictures agreed to take one of me on “my” bridge…

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Burano!

  1. Sheila Bosch says:

    What a wonderful day!!! Question, is it Picassa that lets you do a “watermark” on your photos?Silkie Date: Tue, 11 Dec 2012 21:13:45 +0000 To: sbosch50@msn.com

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Si, Silkie, it is. When you sinc to Picasa web it asks if you want a watermark on the pictures. As I explained to someone else I did it so that strangers can’t lift the picture and sell it as their own.

  2. Sue Merritt says:

    I truly loved all the photographs. Your renderings make me feel as tho’ I’ve been to Venezia during the Christmas holiday season.

    The reflections in Burano are awesome. The composition of number 17 is my favorite.

    How many more days will you be there, or should I ask. Will be nice to be back home, but very hard to leave there I am sure.

    Have a good day tomorrow.

    Sue

    Sent from my iPad

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Sue,
      The time is too short and no, it will not be nice to be “back home” as I feel Venice is my home and that Seattle is just the place I stay when I cannot be here. As someone who has lived many places in her life….this is truly home if even only for a short space of time.
      I return to Seattle on the 19th. The day the forecast says now that it is going to snow. There won’t be many pictures from a speeding water taxi to the airport.
      But I plan to work on getting a visa to live in Italy. Yes, that is the plan.

  3. may1787 says:

    I really like your photos of Burano. I was never able to make it out to Burano or Murano when I was in Venice, so I think I’ll have to go back if for that reason only. Those squirrels in the bakery window were so cute! I have a similiar, smaller one that I set out as part of my autumn decor. I enjoy the bristle brush animals for some reason.
    I am glad you are posting more Christmas photos! I especially like the doorway of what I am guessing is a florist shop. Bellissimo!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Leah, you have to see Burano! There is nothing like being there.
      More Christmas photos because the decorations are just now going up. In Venice they don’t start as early as the States. Hope to get some night shots of San Marco sometime this week…maybe tonight since the birthday dinner has been postponed to tomorrow. (restaurant closed on Wednesdays)

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    And yes, Leah, that did seem to be a florist shop. Interesting that cyclamen seem to be a major flower in the Christmas displays…or they just have them in the window boxes and decorate around them. I have to get some for my patio in Seattle.
    It is so nice to not be constantly bombarded with anything I recognize as Christmas music…and I have been pretty good at recognizing the melodies of songs on the radio even if sung in Italian…a little Bob Dylan, some Faith Hill (I love “This Kiss” in Italian) and I’m sure there are others but just can’t name them.
    Back in Seattle one of the stations I listen to (and stopped because of it) started playing 24 hour Christmas music in early October.
    But for me it isn’t really Christmas until I hear either Nat Cole (or at least the writer Mel Torme) singing “Chestnuts roasting on an open fire” which is actually titled “The Christmas Song”…it has to be in a store…any store when I’m least expecting it and the closer to December 25th the better.
    I’m having a lazy birthday morning…reading emails from friends around the world…they are up in OZ. High tide of 90cm in less than an hour so no San Marco for a bit. I’ll just finish my coffee…maybe get ready and meander down to the place I’m trying to make my local and have another…then, yes, finally faux fur hat shopping. Promise picture.

  5. Kate Deans says:

    Wishing you a very happy birthday today. It seems already such a long time since we shared our coffee at Gino’s! I have been following your adventures with increasing envy, and admiring your photographs too. Lots of love to you from a very cold and frosty Scotland!

  6. mvaden1948 says:

    Ciao, Kate,
    Wow, that cappuccino at Gino’s was on my third day here! It is frosty here too…but probably not as frosty as there. Hope the fox didn’t get all the chickens.
    I’m almost ready and out the door…almost.
    Grazie for the birthday wishes.
    Michelle

  7. Sue says:

    Let me add to the birthday wishes you receive today. What a great place to celebrate …… And I do hope you find a wonderful fuzzy hat!..

    About moving it Italy: the thought that you might just be contemplating such had entered my mind. You seem very much at ease there. What an adventure that would be. What, if any, loopholes do you have to go through to accomplish such a move?

    Sue

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Sue, since I have not even checked into the process of obtaining an Italian visa I have no idea yet. I’m sure it is complicated and all in Italian. So language classes are in order among other things.
      Yes, it just feels right.
      We shall see. And I’m a firm believer in God’s Will. In any and all languages.

  8. oh Misha, the fox got all of the hens, every single one. I will re-stock in the spring. The geese and ducks are still fine, and the peacocks too. I have just posted a bunch of peacock feathers to Ca’ Macana (the mask shop) in Dorsoduro!

  9. mvaden1948 says:

    Oh, I did discover that I need a friend along for the hat shopping because there is the color choice and you can’t depend on the person behind the counter who just wants to sell you the hat. So I’m enlisting Karen.

Leave a Reply

