Tanto Freddo

Sadly, no snow yesterday. I was so excited about the prospect that I kept getting up during the night on Friday looking out the window at the light snow falling. You would have thought I was four years old…not a “woman of a certain age” as the French so kindly put it. Sometime during the night it turned to rain and washed away any that may have settled on the boats and gondolas.

But early in the morning I saw this floating in the canal outside my window

Here is another picture as it floats under the bridge

Wouldn’t you think I could create a story around those flowers? A short story, or perhaps even a novel?

And here is as close as I got to snow

The ice skating rink at San Polo. They were doing some work on it so no skaters right then.

I was sitting in the front outside seat on the vaporetto…you get the best pictures that way…and this name on a water taxi says it all

I did get some really great pictures and here is a selection

Lights in the window

Chimney pot (I have a really good zoom lens)

Lights reflected on water …a nice touch

Cane Freddo

So hard to take a bad reflections picture in Venezia

Someone put their lights up…this is just above the skating rink.

Yes, one of my “artsy” shots. I love the juxtaposition of the house and bare tree.

I waited out the tourists in the narrow calle for this one

Was he really supposed to check his text?

More lights

Need to wander San Marco at night again sometime this week.

Did I mention I’m going fur hat shopping. This one is fabulous and I think she knows it…sorry a little fuzzy, the vaporetto was slamming into the dock as you know they do.

Yes, tanto freddo, but if you are dressed for it Venice is absolutely magical at this time of the year. Actually it is magical any time of the year in my opinion but the cold crisp air adds as special sparkle.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Tanto Freddo

  1. Sue Merritt says:

    Hi Michelle….

    I loved these pictures. Throughout the years I have viewed thousands of photographs taken in Venice, so many of them similar. But you have captured some extraordinary shots here! Many of which the likes I have not seen. The colors are so vibrant, the angle of some shots so different. Never having been there at this time of year, I found the holiday lights a joy to see.

    And I do hope you can find a furry hat; it would look swell on you. And a nice remembrance to have when you are home in Seattle.

    Let’s hope the snowman drops his white stuff on the calles and canals while you are there. I’d like to see the pictures you take then.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Sue

    Sent from my iPad

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Sue,
      Some of the pictures are taken by simply stepping into a calle to get away from a large group coming towards me. Pictures 5 and 8 (if you don’t count the banner) happened just that way. And the light and reflection have to be right too. I left the camera on the landscape setting yesterday, used the zoom a lot (obvious with the chimney pot) but otherwise it was point and shoot. I did take a photography class in college…just one semester which really emphasized composition. I’m hoping that other Mike…Mike Mimms would be proud….he suffered so much with the smart comments from me and my friend in that class. So I’m sure that helped. And my tour with my friend Mike…I will always remember him saying get closer than you think you need to be…take a small portion of the shot to give a feeling…you don’t need all of Piazza San Marco…not his exact words but the intent of what he said. I’ve looked at my subject differently ever since.
      Tuesday is hat shopping day…maybe. Sure beats spending euros on ugly high water boots.
      And per weather.com we have snow flurries coming next Sunday!

  2. Sue Merritt says:

    Must tell you…I loved the chimney pot.

    Sue

    Sent from my iPad

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    They were one of the first things to catch my attention on my first trip to Venice and I’ve been photographing them ever since.

  4. may1787 says:

    Misha,
    You just made my day! I was just thinking the other day how I would love to be in Venice for Christmas sometime to see it lit up and here are pictures of the Venice Christmas lights and holiday window displays. I am in love! If you have a good enough camera, I would love to see photographs of the lights at night. Have you been in Venice during a snowfall? I would love to experience that.
    Leah

    P.S. The flowers actually made me slightly sad. They reminded me of floral arrangments thrown in the water at a burial at sea.

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    Ciao, Leah,
    Yes there is a plan to go to San Marco one night this week to photograph the lights at night. We (Karen and I…and Mike too) haven’t settled on which night. We’re going to make an outing of it and do Cafe Florian for hot chocolate.
    I thought the same about the flowers when I first saw them…bittersweet. Wondered what their story was. I need to make up at least a short story for them. It’s one of my projects…of many.
    Yes, come here at this time of year…much warmer than where you are even though it is frigid by most standards. Don’t you love the woman in her fur hat? Very appropriate here.

    • may1787 says:

      I love Cafe Florian. It was one of my greatest experiences in Venice and I can just imagine a cup of thick hot chocolate. I’m jealous just thinking of it! But, I can look forward to my cup of hot chocolate from Angelina in Paris. I hear its divine! I’m not much of a fur person myself, but she looks very luxurious and I imagine it would make the hot chocolate that much more memorable. You know what her photograph reminded me of? The Anna Karenina movie that is coming out soon. She wears these amazing furs in the advertisments.
      Do you typically write short stories, or did you just feel the urge to do so based on the photograph?

  6. mvaden1948 says:

    Yes, all the furs and fur hats around here are making me think Lara from Dr. Zhivago…or Anna Karenina. I’m going fur hat shopping myself..but mine will be “faux” as I don’t believe in killing animals just for fur…if you eat it too that is one thing…but not just for the fur. And I’m okay with vintage fur. Most of the mink coats I’m seeing here look pretty vintage.
    Actually other than papers in college, letters to friends and this blog..I haven’t written…although there is a novel lurking in there somewhere and possibly short stories. I’m always coming up with wonderful lines that I need to work into a story. So we shall see what happens next year when I retire and have a lot more time on my hands.
    I need to apply myself to getting my Italian visa first…so I can live in Venice. It’s a dream worth pursuing.

  7. mvaden1948 says:

    And woman, what on earth time is it in Alaska? I know it’s 6:50 am in Seattle…are you an hour or two hours different from Seattle?

    • may1787 says:

      I work nights, so I’m often online late at night. Alaska is one hour behind Seattle.

      • mvaden1948 says:

        Since I know what you do for a living I thought that might be the case. Unlike me …I’m always up in the middle of the night…something to do with hormones or lack of them…not good when you work 8-5.
        My mother was a nurse and most of her career worked the 11pm to 7:30 am shift. My sister and I learned to be very quiet during school breaks.

Leave a Reply

