Venerdi along the Via Garibaldi

Thursday was my dinner party with Karen and Mike. I’m so sorry there are no food pictures. You will have to take our words for it that it was indeed delicious. Yes, I cooked in my lovely kitchen. The menu consisted of Crema di Pomodoro, Insalata Mista and Spaghetti alla Carbonara. Karen brought an assortment of goodies from a bakery on the Lido and Mike brought the wine…for himself. I’ve mentioned before that neither Karen nor I drink.

Here is the table set for dinner and awaiting their arrival.

Image

But I have to show you some pictures out my window earlier in the day…yes, it is another picture of the view from “my” bridge but it to me is the best yet

Image

That was in the morning and then in the afternoon I took these out my window while I was preparing the dinner (I’m easily distracted by a beautiful view)

Image

Image

And would you believe this is only a five minute walk from my door. If you have been here of course you would.

Image

This morning I noticed something I had not seen before on my walk to the Riva and realized that these closed doors have secluded courtyards beyond

Image

I took the vaporetto to the Giardini stop and walked along the Riva to Via Garibaldi…these are some of the things I saw along the way.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Salt on the bridges to keep you from slipping

Image

This is where I was…

Image

Image

In a moment that bird will dive

Image

I love this house…lots of interesting architectural details

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

A dancing bull

Image

Image

And then I looked to my left and in an overgrown garden, what did I find….

Image

Dingo cat houses! I tried to contact the residents but it was so cold they were probably curled up with their tails tucked over their noses.

Image

Lots of space to hide and play and hunt in the grass, fenced and “dog free”.

Image

You know me and laundry

Image

A reminder to dog owners I think (remember my limited Italian) to “scoop the poop”

Image

The sign was on the entrance to this park

Image

Image

Image

Very nice balcony

Image

Great grill work…notice flower box inside

Image

Image

In case you may have thought we were no longer in Venice…

Image

No, not crossing the bridge….

Image

Turning right to the…

Image

Image

Santa checking his naughty list…notice how thick that book is..

Image

This is what a pharmacy (Farmacia) should look like…Rite Aid and Bartell’s have it wrong

Image

This is where I first remember seeing the French couple although at the time I did not know they were French…blonde with man in cap…they will be important later

Image

Yay, Laundry

Image

Santa welcomes you for…maybe vin brule…something hot on this cold day

Image

Yes, more from the Door you know what…

Image

And here at the vegetable boat I met the couple from Toulouse, France….he was taking a picture of her by the boat and I offered to take one of them together

Image

And then he reciprocated and took one of me.

Image

They went on and I turned and went back through the Giardini

Image

Image

I like this lion

Image

A broad, tree lined avenue takes you back to the Riva

Image

Surrounded by houses

Image

Do you think she may have a cat carrier?

Image

What is this?

Image

It’s a flower shop

Image

Image

Image

Back at Arsenale some of us were very concerned that this little one didn’t have a coat or seem to have an owner. I see lots of dogs here but have not seen a stray dog.

Image

The tree lights are up in the corto near me but as of the time I walked through had not been lit.

Image

I have wondered about this every time I walk by and now I know….Image

It’s one of Yvonne’s favorite things…for dogs.

Can’t help but wonder what’s over the wall

Image

When I got to my door at the foot of the bridge was a couple with a map, looking very confused and I thought I heard English. I asked if they were lost and they said yes. I asked where they wanted to go and they said Rialto. I was able to give them explicit directions back to the Riva and the Arsenale vaporetto stop…even without the help of Nona.

And here is what I got at the flower shop…it is indeed beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

Image

 

As I was standing on the Via Garibaldi today listening to the noon bells from San Pietro I noticed something on my coat. The tiny, white chrysalis of a snow flake…loaded with promise. I find myself really looking forward to snow. In Seattle I would be dreading it…just getting out of the parking lot where I live is impossible in the snow and it means using valuable vacation time to stay home in the cold because the power would probably be out and do nothing. Luckily we only get about one big snow a year.

But here, where I don’t have to worry about driving….remember, Venice, no cars, it’s different. I’m really, really looking forward to it.

It is now 23:35…11:35 for those of you not on the 24 hour clock. It has been snowing lightly for several hours but doesn’t seem to be “sticking” as we say in Seattle or “no accumulation” as the weathermen say. But I’m going off to bed now and setting my alarm for the crack of dawn just in case. Mike Henderson said if it snowed and I wasn’t out taking pictures he would “kick my butt”. I’m not going to take any chances.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Venerdi along the Via Garibaldi

  1. Barbara Palmer says:

    I am having such a lovely visiting Venice with you. What a very interesting season to be there. I love it!

  2. Sue Merritt says:

    Every day I look to see if you have posted a new episode of your stay in Venice: I am overjoyed to read about your meanderings as you call them. I feel like I am with you every step of the way.

    Would have loved to be there with you and your friends for dinner. Seems like you have a lovely apartment.

    My recovery is slow but is coming along nicely. It has been a long road. Hopefully all this therapy will bring me a good range of motion…..after all, I would really treasure one nice VERY LONG trip back to Venice….

    Thanks for keeping me informed of what you are up to.

    Sue

    Sent from my iPad

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    I am very glad you ladies are enjoying this. It helps me relive the day just to write the blog and chose which pictures I’m going to use.
    Sue, I am really looking into getting something done about my knee when I get back also. Don’t know if replacement is the answer but something simply must be done.
    My friends…including Karen…who have had that done all say it is a slow and painful process but worth it. And remember, I think I sent you her blog, Karen had her knee surgery in Venice. Now that is an adventure.
    And sadly it is nearly 3am…I got up to look out and it seems the snow has switched to rain so any accumulation will probably be washed away by daybreak:-(
    What will be, will be as Doris Day sang. Ce sera, sera.
    Okay, try to get back to sleep.

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    No snow…it switched to rain during the night and washed away anything that was here. But, although it is raining softly at the moment weather.com is again saying snow. Last Sunday my friend Yvonne had a Venetian family crest and their motto on her blog. The motto was “Ancora Spero” which she translated as “I still hope”
    Ancora Spero!

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    And it really is too bad my posts don’t come through with the time in Venice, instead of the time in Seattle…It’s 7: 35 am on Saturday December 8.

  6. may1787 says:

    That courtyard is beautiful! I had heard once of a garden/courtyard tour that was done in Venice similiar to the urban garden tours we have here in the US. I think it sounds interesting, and I imagine you would see many more like the one you have pictured. Ahh…someday.
    I also really love the greenery in Venice, especially if a bridge is involved. To me, it is very Secret Garden-esque. One of the things that surprised me most about Venice was how often I would be in a garden alone. Just enjoying everything by myself.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Yes, Leah, lots of little “secret gardens” around…you just have to keep your eyes open, you never know when you’ll find one behind that beautiful door you pass everyday.
      Don’t know about a garden tour but I bet there is one.

Leave a Reply

