Murano Morning

This morning my friend Karen had to see a man about a lamp….on Murano. So I tagged along for the ride. Here is the morning in pictures.

Image

Why haven’t I noticed this before…the water doors crossing the bridge to Calle d L’Arco?

Image

Activity in my campo…looks like some Christmas Lights being installed…we’ll have to wait and see.

I met Karen at the S. Elena stop and we caught the vaporetto to Murano

Image

Yes, that is a vegetable boat. The next one is a closer look.

Image

Image

I want this!

Image

I changed my mind…I want this! Actually I want both but I can’t afford either. Actually didn’t even ask the prices. I just know.

Image

Here are some with the lights turned on.

Image

Isn’t this a classy doggie raincoat?

Image

No, not Chihuly

Image

I was asked how people keep the water from entering their homes and shops during Acqua Alta..here is one example.

Image

An interesting glass chess set….only window shopping.

Image

These strawberries might be a little hard on your teeth.

Image

These flowers are really blue…unlike my azaleas.

Image

Santa and tiny reindeer…eight of them

Image

By popular demand…here I am. It helps to have someone else to operate the camera and being married to a photographer Karen is great in her own right.

Image

Si, your stair phobic friend is standing on top of a very large bridge, yes, me.

And here is a collection of a few of the love locks we found there.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Rowers…doing what rowers do.

Image

Love all that luscious red. Here’s more

Image

Image

No, we did not stop for goodies..

Image

Wine delivery

Image

An interesting boat

Image

Shades of Blue

Image

O Mio Dio! What a beautiful door! You know me and doors…I really did join the Legion of Door Whores…not for nothing.

Image

I have a “thing” for windows too and another great door.

Image

Allow me to hold your shutter in place.

Image

The graffiti removal men were here this morning. This is the corner where I turn for home…Calle del Dose. I used that graffiti as a landmark because after dark there are no yellow table cloths. Ah, well, back to counting calles.

Karen and I stopped for soup for lunch and then went our separate ways. The soup was good. It was hot. The weather continues molto freddo but didn’t seem as cold as yesterday. You should have seen the snow on the Dolomites this morning. Snow predicted for Saturday. The next sunny day I’ll walk out to Celestia and get you a picture of those snow capped mountains.

An afterthought: maybe I feel so at home here because I come from a long line of glass. My father, his father, his father all worked in glass. They made beautiful etched mirrors. Their family came from Ireland mostly…but the Irish got those glass making skills from somewhere else…

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Murano Morning

  1. Elizabeth Raab says:

    How nice to find a new entry when I came home today! Loved the photos. It is molto freddo here too, but yesterday we had snow, not today.
    Had a really nice day at the office, and am always grateful when things go smoothly, no disasters and no more exams till end of January.
    The soup sounded nice. Loved the blue jewellery and the reindeer.
    Have a lovely evening,
    Liz

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    Grazie, Liz,
    Glad you had a good day too.

  3. Barb says:

    Another person here who has a thing for Venice doors and windows. I love the patina of the old wood and paint. Oh…and door knockers, too! You’ll have to take Karen along with you on your daily walks so you get more photos of Misha Meandering!

    • Michelle says:

      Ah, yes, the knockers….love them too.
      As much as I would love to take her along, I think Karen has other things to do also. I’m just so happy she is taking me along on some of her “meanderings”. And since she is married to a photographer (and takes photos herself) there is no grumbling when I stop every few steps with my camera. I really bore some of my friends with that…well, some friends I used to have.

  4. Anna says:

    Just found your blog fvia Yvonne’s blog, love it and your whimsy but so jealous too. How long are you staying? Have you heard of Toni Sepeda’s “Brunetti’s Venice” it gives walks of Brunetti’s haunts?

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao Anna and welcome to my corner of blogdom.
      Yes, I have that book with me. Not so much for the walks as I have been to Venice before and prefer just getting lost, which I have been doing a lot of. But the maps in it are great. I have just been ripping them out of the book and taking them with me so when I’m tired of being lost or my painful right knee is being a pain I can find my way to the nearest vaporetto stop. Celestia is actually the closest to me but it takes forever to get anywhere from there. Arsenale is the one I usually take…about a seven minute walk (I’m slow on the bridge). And you’ve seen the view out my window and the view from “my” bridge.
      I’m here for a month November 19 to December 19, have a delightful apartment hidden away in Castello with everything I need (grocery store, fruit and vegetable stand, bakery, hair dresser (haven’t really checked that out but walked by) and live music) all within a five or ten minute walk.
      Need to get dressed and out the door and see where my camera takes me today.

  5. mvaden1948 says:

    Oh, if I’m going to the islands (Burano is on my list for next week and maybe San Michele) Celestia is the best stop for that and only about five or six minutes from my apartment.

Leave a Reply

