Rainy Days and Sundays (do not get me down)

Yes, it has been raining a bit. Just a bit. Nothing big or long lasting. So here are a few things I have been enjoying.

I know this is normally a summer salad but I had the pomodoro (tomato), buffalo mozzarella, the basil and it just happened for lunch on a rainy Friday afternoon.

Image

Saturday morning I set out for my local Punto to get a few things I wanted….note did not say “needed”.

Image

Yes, the sun was making a valiant effort to appear.

Image

In Punto the local Senoras were very helpful in finding what I needed. I was standing in front of the canned/tinned Pomodori (tomatoes) and could not figure out which was “passata di pomodori” that I needed for my tomato and rice soup. Found rice the only problem there was which one and figured it out. So I turned to the lady next to me…had it written down so she didn’t need to try to understand my bad Italian pronunciation (I do fairly well with words I have heard…not so good with ones I haven’t) and she picked up a bottle of what I had bypassed as being tomato juice. No it is exactly the pureed tomatoes I need. Note: this is not the same as “tomato puree” you buy in a can in the states. So one last thing…I could not find the sugar. I know the word, I know what it should look like but went up and down the aisles and could not find it. A kind white haired lady walked by me and I said “Scusi, Senora, Dove il zucchero?” and she said something that I took to mean “follow me” so I did. And there it was….next to the wine. Last place I would have looked. Actually I never would have looked there. It reminds me of when I lived in Grenada, BWI…they put things where they had room and that is what they do here. Makes shopping even more of an adventure.  Do you think I’m spending too much time in the grocery store? No more than I would in Seattle. But there I would be in a car, going from store to store to get the best deals. This is much more fun and I’m walking, in the fresh air, in Venice!

One of the two bridges to home.

Image

Cross the bridge, down the calle, slight left through the campo and right over my bridge…around 10 minutes depending on how fast I am over the bridges.

Image

No that is not my laundry…it belongs to the people upstairs.

Home: That’s my door at the end of the railing

Image

I was only back for a little while when I got a text from Karen wondering where I was because the water was rising in Dosodoro (where she was) and it looked like it was getting high even though the siren had not sounded. I called her back (I dial faster than I text) and said I had been out but now I was home and said there was no high water here. Then I looked out the window….up to the bottom of the water door. So it had come up a lot just since I had come in. That’s okay, if I need to go out again I can wait for the tide. She said she was surprised that they had not sounded the sirens because it seemed at least 110 cm to her. As everyone in Venice knows “they” have been wrong before. Probably will be again.

Image

The photo above was taken around 12:30 pm.

Sunday, I’m easing into my day and reading my friend’s blog. She says other friends have told her it is raining in Venice. I respond, I just got up, let me look out the window, nope, not in my little corner of Castello.

Later another post from her that her friends insist it is raining, still not raining here but since the forecast was 10% chance of rain and they are in San Polo…well, that could be the 10%.

I could tell it was cold though so here is me…getting ready to go out…with coat, hat, gloves…

Image

And yes, that hand had a glove on it outdoors….except when taking pictures. Photo in the mirror trick.

Image

Cruise ship being towed to port. Not as much of a giant as many.

Image

Someone’s yacht…don’t know who…don’t care

Image

For those of you who have not been to Venice, the inside of the vaporetto. No outside seat for me today. And for those who have expressed concern..yes, they do carry life jackets (note box under seat)….highly unlikely that you would ever need it.

Image

Even the dog is wearing a raincoat

Image

Colored gondolas through the rain splattered window of the vaporetto

Image

Making a living on the water

Image

Even in the rain and cold there is someone who needs a ride in a gondola

Image

Water is rising

Image

Elevated walkway in place to Rialto Mercato vaporetto…will I need it?

Image

Don’t walk too close…you really can’t see the edge of the fondamenta very well and may end up in the Grand Canal.

I thought of going boot shopping…but then again, maybe not. I doubt if they have the leopard print ones in my size and I won’t buy the ugly green ones….unless I really, really need them.

Image

Look! Blue sky!

Image

Here comes my boat

Image

Even lovely young ladies can work on the vaporetto

Image

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas. Do you thing you would be allowed to bring your tree home on the Seattle City Bus? Nooooo!

Image

This style of jacket and coat is very popular here.

Image

Home stop.

Image

When it rains the rain gear appears in the shops. This one is on the corner where I turn into Calle de L’Arco

Image

It was a pretty picture. No I didn’t tip the pigeon…not even into the canal.

Image

Water in my Rio when I came in….pretty high but I never got my feet wet….just the bottoms of my shoes from the rainy wet calles.

And for those of you who have been concerned that I have not mentioned buying one scarf…that dry spell ended today…in a little shop on the Riva right near where I turn to come home. She had some beautiful designs. I got two…20 Euros…I could have done better if there wasn’t a cruise ship in port. But they are beautiful and worth it and would cost a lot more in Seattle for nice ones like these (yes, we have “knock-off” scarves in Seattle).

Image

And I did not forget to replenish my stock of Clementines…although I learned here you say “clementeenay”.

Image

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rainy Days and Sundays (do not get me down)

  1. mvaden1948 says:

    And for the person who is really into song lyrics and titles…I know it is “Rainy Days and Mondays…really get me down”…it is a play on words. I know most of you don’t need that explanation.

  2. Bert says:

    You spend ages looking for something, and it’s always in the last place you look.:-)
    I’m with Bob – “I don’t like Mondays”. (Not actually – since I retired.)

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    And soon I will also be retired and no day will be any different from the other…unless, of course I am in Venice where I even smile more.

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    Oh, and since I don’t drink any kind of alcohol I would have had absolutely no reason to be in the wine section. That zucchero was really hiding.

  5. Sue says:

    What a lovely day I just had in Venice! Thanks to you I feel as if I am there with you every step of the way.. Still recovering from my knee replacement. Just did my physical therapy session and am now reclining on the sofa while icing the knee. And what could be better than experiencing Venice with you.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Ciao, Sue,
      I remember what those postings on other people’s blogs from or about Venice do for me. Glad to bring you along and it was a lot lighter than stuffing you in my suitcase.

  6. Sue Merritt says:

    I feel as if I am there with you. If I were there in person, I most likely would be doing just as you are. I loved going to Billa. I also went to a dry goods place where they sell fabric, etc. I donT sew, but I loved looking at what they had to offer. And I enjoyed listening to the conversations with the proprietors.

    Thanks for brightening my day.

    Sue

    Sent from my iPad

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Sue,
      You would adore my little Punto. Small but it has everything you need. And not as crowded as Billa is (at least everyone I have been in and at any time of day I have been there). And it is such a short walk from here. Now if the neighborhood cats would just come out to be petted during my walk it would make grocery shopping total heaven.
      Note, I hate it back in Seattle…always try to go first thing in the morning so I don’t have to deal with anyone else…this from a very gregarious people person.

  7. Barb says:

    Just as I was about to comment that we needed a picture of you, there you were! And a lovely photo it was! From your photos and your writings I can tell that each day in Venice is just what you’ve been waiting for these past long months. As of today, I have 100 more days…..but it feels like an eternity!

  8. mvaden1948 says:

    Oh, Barb, I remember that “will the time ever come feeling”. Hope you checked the next couple of posts also. Really hard to get a picture of me when I’m the one holding the camera.

Leave a Reply

