A Lazy Sunday Stroll

Today I’m just going to wander the area behind the Rialto Mercato to see where my camera takes me. She is not very well trained as she insists on taking my poor knees over bridge after bridge but I love Venice so…

Image

Vivaldi’s church is open for Sunday services

Image

And look at what is also open on Sunday…my favorite hardware store. I bet I could buy waders there if the need (or the water) should arise.

Image

Another misty day but not nearly as soupy as yesterday. Still mild temperatures.

It was mostly Italian tourists on the vaporetto. I know because they had cameras (tourist) and were speaking Italian. I had a little chat with the man next to me (currently living in Sienna) who was trying unsuccessfully to take a picture of his daughter who kept sticking out her tongue as only a five (or maybe six) year old can.

I got off at Rialto Mercato and much to my surprise there were some vendors out with fruit and vegetables. I found the guys I purchased from the other day and got a big bag of Clementines…it is the time of year for them and some other items and got a little “repeat customer discount”. Then off to wander.

Image

A good day for reflections…of any kind

Image

Where have all the tourists gone?

Image

Oops! They found me.

Image

Waiting for you

Image

Love Locks. Thanks to a friends blog many of us now know that it has become a custom for lovers to put padlocks on bridges to express their devotion to their beloved. Here is a small example.

Image

I should have heeded the sign

Image

I try to remember to look up but…with all the dogs you have to watch your step too.

Image

I was headed in this direction when something told me to turn around and I beheld this very interesting mosaic and collage mural. The pictures are from left to right as I couldn’t do it justice in one frame.

Image

Image

Image

Image

And on my way in what I hoped was the right direction. Oh, there is really no wrong direction in Venice…it’s islands I can’t get off if I wanted to, which I don’t.

Image

I think on other days that is a vegetable boat.

Image

A Venetian parking lot

Image

Is this where Kate Hepburn’s character stayed in “Summertime”? One of my favorite movies.

Image

I know where I am. I’d recognize that butt anywhere.

Image

On the vaporetto, headed home in my favorite outside seat.

Image

This beautiful blue bowl on my table was crying out for oranges…and a few apples.

Image

I am eating healthy…Nutella doesn’t count

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Lazy Sunday Stroll

  1. Bert says:

    “Is this where Kate Hepburn’s character stayed in “Summertime”? ” No, it’s not. That it is is a popular myth, a myth busted here: http://www.aloverofvenice.com/summertime/Summertime.htm
    The garden of the Pensione Accademia is, however, where Sir Laurence Olivier, Jeremy Irons and Anthony Andrews shared a scene in Brideshead Revisited.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      And having read the reference above I knew it wasn’t but as I hope you can tell, my sense of humor prevails in all things. As you say, a popular myth.
      I did also see that scene in Brideshead Revisited…and I’ve been to Castle Howard…..which played Brideshead in the TV mini series mentioned.

  2. Bert says:

    Your memory is clearly much better than mine! 🙂
    I find it difficult to recognise facetiousness in print without a smiley face or an LOL.
    We went to Castle Howard in 2001.
    Wasn’t the TV series superb?

  3. mvaden1948 says:

    I’ll have to be more careful when I’m trying to be funny.
    I was at Castle Howard in 1985…shortly after the series aired. And it was indeed superb. The later movie not nearly so well done.
    I’m so glad that PBS is waiting for me to return before airing the new season of Downton Abbey. Ah but they didn’t really check with me first. They should have, but the didn’t.
    I’ll take a month in Venice over any old TV series any time.

Leave a Reply

