Dove il Gatto

Today I decided to go in search of cats. I’m missing my Lili and just need to run my fingers through some soft fur on a little four legged creature that may or may not purr. There used to be a lot of cats in Venice. Venice was almost famous for the cats wandering around. I even saw a TV program years ago called “The Knight of Venice” about a Mrs. Knight who decided to do something about the cat overpopulation and set about trapping and sterilizing cats and then putting them back where she found them. This is what the activists in many countries today refer to as TNR…Trap, Neuter, Release.

But first you need what may become the daily view from my bridge.Image

It’s a bit of a misty morning but still mild temperature wise. I have to stop taking my ques from the ladies crossing the bridge. They are all wearing those puffy jackets and have heavy scarves wrapped around their necks making me think it is really cold out. But I get out there and it’s too warm in the jacket I’ve chosen. Tomorrow layers will be my choice.

Image

 

Here are some cuties I encountered patiently waiting for their masters to come out of the shop.

Image

 

This one seems to be saying “I’m so embarrassed. I’m tied up and they are free.”

And finally as I enter Campo San Lorenzo…my first cat!Image

A little worse for the wear…his legs looked like he had been wading in the recent Acqua Alta

Image

 

His friend was all clean…keeping warm on some cardboard. She seemed to say “I keep myself nice and clean”

Image

“Sure, she hogs all the cardboard and all I get is this plastic bag.”

Image

 

DINGO cat houses. Gattare (cat ladies, and some men) come and leave food for the cats. I saw them at the big sanctuary on the Lido serving up plates of pasta and the cats obviously love it.

Image

 

Inside the Chiesa de San Lorenzo. It is my understanding that it has been closed for several hundred years…I could be wrong (Bert) but the country of Mexico has contracted to use it as exhibition space over the next nine years and fund the restoration. Just imagine what they will find in here. The have an audio visual display in front (where the cat houses once were) explaining what they are doing.

Image

 

Can’t you just imagine Guido Brunetti dashing out that door and jumping into a police launch to speed away on some case? This is where he works. No, really!

Okay, okay, I know he isn’t real but after 20 some books I feel like Guido, Paola and the kids are old family friends. I impatiently wait for each new one. Note, I did not say patiently.

Image

Do you know where I am? Of course you do….

Image

 

It’s the Acqua Alta Book Shop. Surely I’ll be able to pet at least one of Luigi’s cats.

Image

 

I was once accused of being able to spot a cat on the moon with the naked eye but I don’t see a cat here. So after politely introducing myself to Luigi (thanks to another friend I feel like I know him) I ask where the cats are. Ah,they have gone upstairs. So I poke around, dangerous for me to be in a book store; especially since I just got cash at the Bancomat (ATM in Italy). Hmm, lovely book in a language I can’t read “Diario Veneziano”, I don’t even think it’s Italian, I think it is in Veneziano…the Venetian dialect. But the water color illustrations are so lovely…I bought it anyway, after asking if he had it in English. No, only that. Okay, and I handed over my Euros. I said “Ciao, Luigi, I’ll be back to see the cats soon” and as I headed around the corner:

Image

 

Someone let me stroke his lovely, silky back…but only for a moment before he sauntered haughtily away as only a cat can.

Here are some other pictures of my wanderings on this misty morning:

Image

 

Image

 

He actually waved. No, I don’t know him.

Image

Image

 

Did I mention it was a misty day? Taken about 12:30pm from the Arsenale vaporetto stop.

 

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dove il Gatto

  1. Hooray, I’m glad you finally scored a pat! Hopefully there are plenty more where that came from over the coming days.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Even if I have to follow Kathleen’s wonderful instructions and go visit the DINGO Sanctuary at Malamoco on the Lido! She even included pictures of the bus stops I need.

  2. Bert says:

    No, you’re not wrong, Misha. I read the same story elsewhere [http://www.churchesofvenice.co.uk/castello.htm#sanlor or http://www.slowtrav.com/blog/annienc/2012/08/news_about_san_lorenzo.html – I’m not sure which]. But it’s been closed for ‘only’ just over two hundred years.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I knew it was at least two hundred. Thank you, Bert…I knew you would have the facts where churches are concerned. It’s really beautiful inside….all things considered.

      • Caroline says:

        The display outside wasn’t about the church, it was the Mexican architecture biennale ‘pavilion’ (on projects in Mexico) – not much floorspace inside for them to use at present!

      • mvaden1948 says:

        I realized that later…and yes, not much available floor space yet.

  3. ytaba36 says:

    I found quite a few cats in San Polo, so maybe that’s worth a little meander?

    • mvaden1948 says:

      I was around that area yesterday but saw only dogs…but did find a cat store (things not actual cats) not far behind Rialto Mercato. I got his card and hope to find it again.

Leave a Reply

