In which I tell and show you how not to get lost

These are the directions from the apartment to the Riva and the vaporetto which will take you almost anywhere in Venice…or as close as you can get (you’ll have to walk the rest of the way). Mouse over the pictures for the descriptions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So now, enjoy getting lost in the rest of Venice. I’ve done my best to get you this far. Remember…some of us Venice “addicts” are more than a little “touched” by Venice mostly.

 

 

 

 

 

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to In which I tell and show you how not to get lost

  1. jan Graham says:

    I am lost already

  2. ytaba36 says:

    Yup, I know exactly where you are, and where you went. 🙂

  3. Susie L says:

    What a lovely walk. Thanks for taking us along!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      It is indeed a lovely walk once you get the hang of it and it really doesn’t take very long when you aren’t worried about carrying heavy things and making a wrong turn.
      Wasn’t it accommodating of that lovely lady to lead us out? I couldn’t have planned that better.

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    And it is also nice to be able to walk around here without the use of a map. Even with my camera in my hand this morning a man started to ask me a question in Italian. It happened yesterday too…from a woman. I think being an “older” woman alone they figure you live here.

  5. Bert says:

    At the expense of a small diversion, you could go through Sotoportego dei Preti and see the “red heart stone” that features in the story of Orio and Melusina.

  6. mvaden1948 says:

    I’m always up for diversions; large or small. I’ll have to look for that. I remember when I was being led here the first day going through a sotoportego but I was so tired after 15 hours of planes and airports that I would not be able to tell you which one. As I have emailed to a couple of friends the first few days I would take the wrong calle and come up against a wall, literally, called the Arsenale. That is when I would realize I was going in the wrong direction. But that is the joy of Venice…getting lost and finding new ways to go where you were trying to go in the first place.

  7. I am pretty confident from taking your excellent tour that I will still get lost when I come back to Venice someday! But what a place to become lost in ~ for hardships such as that, we should pray. I’m so happy you’re there, Misha.

  8. julie says:

    What a lovely walk Michelle, love the pictures x

  9. Caroline says:

    Just been discovering your blog via Yvonne’s (and using it as an excuse to delay working) – great fun!

    • mvaden1948 says:

      A friend of mine emailed me that same comment…ignoring the work on her desk…although she works in an office with other people and they are wondering why she is chuckling over her computer. Can’t be that much to laugh about in a law office.
      Glad you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

