Venetian Dreaming Day One and a half

Image

The view from “my” bridge in the other direction.Image

The Aubergine were so beautiful…but I remembered that I don’t care for eggplant

My first full day in Venice. Waking to the sounds of the local church bells ringing and pigeons cooing…actually it’s not quite cooing…some of it is pretty loud. A beautiful day. But for me any day in Venice is a beautiful day.

I finally wandered out about 9am. That is really late for me but the jet lag kept me in longer than anticipated.

First order of business; go to Rialto, the closest place to purchase my Imob card. No first order of business was to step out my door onto the Ponte dei Scudi and take some pictures. I look out my windows onto the canal and this bridge. Yes, it is quiet here, the boat traffic doesn’t really begin till about 8am and I’m always up by then if not about.

Ah, as I type this the 6pm bells are beginning to chime. One of my favorite things in Venice.

Yesterday when I arrived and my landlord met me at the Arsenale stop for the Alilaguna I was so tired after nearly 15 hours of flying (including my layover in Amsterdam) that I could barely remember my name let alone the route we took. This morning I checked the map and headed in what I thought was the right direction and eventually ended up at the Grand Canal. Luckily the sun was out and I could tell north from south.

After a slight misstep with the vaporetto(my first full day back after all) I was at the Rialto stop where I got the paper form to complete for my Imob card. Luckily some of the platforms left over from the “flood”…okay, no flood, Venice doesn’t flood…it gets Acqua Alta…high water…but I digress….they were still out(usually are at this time of year) and I used it for a seat and table and looked at the form and realized I was in trouble. Yes, it is totally in Italian and I speak piccolo Italiano. And the rules say you can’t cross anything out. I thought I knew what everything was but just to be sure I had my tiny Italian to English dictionary and looked up what I was really unsure of and most of the time I was correct. I took the form back and the lovely young lady who speaks wonderful English (and several other languages…says so on her name badge) took my information and my credit card and I now have my pass with my picture on it. My most valued possession after my passport.

After wandering the Rialto Mercato and taking pictures of the beautiful vegetables; I did something I have wanted to do each visit. I went for coffee at one of those places with tables (and menu touristico that I usually avoid like the plague) on the Grand Canal. I chose the one with the prettiest flowers and was happy with my choice. Yes, it was warm enough in my jacket to sit outside in the sun. I had a cappuccino and cornetto and relaxed and enjoyed Venice passing before my eyes. By then it was noon and I realized I was hungrier than I had anticipated so…I stayed for lunch and had Fettuccine Alfredo with Prosciutto. I don’t drink at all…so no spritz, no wine. Total bill 22 Euros including rounding up to the nearest Euro. Service was okay…not overly attentive and I did have to look around to get their attention but I didn’t want overly attentive anyway. The food was good but not great. I wasn’t expecting it to be better and was pleased that it was good.Image

By then I was feeling very tired…did not sleep at all on the plane…too excited I’m sure. Wandered a bit more and then the vaporetto back to my home stop of Arsenale. And then managed to find my way home; eventually.

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Venetian Dreaming Day One and a half

  1. Susie L says:

    I just found your blog through a link on TA. Like you, I am another “Venice Obsessive” and a friend of Y!

    I am really looking forward to reading all about your adventures!

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    Welcome, Susie L. I wonder what would happen if we all descended on our favorite place at one time? Friend of Y? Ah, yes, the Snow Angel. I refer to our little (not so little really) group as the “Venetians Anonymous” although we don’t have regular meetings and we don’t want a 12 Step program to do anything other than return us to our beloved.

Leave a Reply

