Less than a month!

Until I am back in the arms of my beloved Venice. I arrive just after noon on November 19. My camera and I are so looking forward to our month wandering the quite campos and calles.

This morning I was thinking about a few things that delighted me when I arrived the first time:

1) Coming back from the Lido at sunset.

2)The shape of the Fumaiolo…the chimney pots. They are indeed shaped like pots…to keep the burning embers from setting the roof on fire.

3) Those lovely lavender-pink glass street lamps in Piazza San Marco (and several other places) which remind me of the candelabra character in Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. Okay, I’m a sucker for fairy tales…particularly those with a happy ending.

So I decided to look through a couple of the Venice picture books that I have accumulated and see if I’m the only one who takes pictures of them. Well, I guess I am because I couldn’t find any in the books I have but did find a picture taken from the exact location where the picture from my 50 days and counting post was taken only this one actually has  a gondola with people in it..earlier in the day. Lovely shot. And then I read the caption and had to chuckle…no offense to the person who wrote the caption. I will quote it for you in part and no, really, this is what it says, not a typo on my part:

” A trip in a gondolier can be one of the most romantic Venetian experiences, especially on a warm summer evening through the quieter backwaters of the city.”

Food for thought my friends?

About mvaden1948

I love to travel to Venice (and probably other parts of Italy and beyond) and my camera leads me where she wants without any consideration as to whatever plans I may have. I enjoy photographing nature, my cat and anything that strikes my fancy. I have a "thing" for interesting doors and architectural details.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Less than a month!

  1. There was a very rain summer afternoon I’ll never forget in 1997. I was stuck at a caffe behind Piazza San Marco until the rain slowed enough that I could go into the street. I think I was reading Anna Karenina, so I could stay for a while! When I finally walked to the Piazza, just before sunset, the big puddles of water reflected the lanterns. They were fabulous, as in a fable. I’ll try to find my photos and post them in a future blog. Thanks for reviving that memory!

  2. Elizabeth Raab says:

    Having just returned from an unplanned and unforgettable trip to Vienna in October, I am already dreaming about my next visit.
    Am looking forward to reading more.
    Thanks for sharing a remarkable story, Liz

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Liz,
      I hope to take you up on your offer of some time with you in Vienna….maybe my next trip to Venice…after this one. No time this trip as I have to be back to work but next time…autumn of 2014 I’ll be retired and will have plenty of time.

  3. Barbara Palmer says:

    I thought of you instantly when I saw on the news that Venice is 80% under water. I just wonder about your plans.

    • mvaden1948 says:

      My plans are set and unchangeable. I just pray there isn’t high water on November 19 or December 19 so I can get from the airport to my apartment and from my apartment to the airport.
      My landlord on his website says the area of the apartment isn’t subject to Acqua Alta but you never know with as much water as they have had recently. The weather forecast on weather.com shows mostly sunny this coming week but the high water in Venice is tidal. I have been there before during much smaller versions of this where San Marco had about two feet of water…I just avoided that area. Luckily since it tidal it comes in and goes away and it’s not every day. Luckily also since I’ll be there a month I can stay in during the high water. And although it has been known to happen any time of year it is more in November than December. I do remember seeing it on the news the first of December a couple of years ago. But as I said, I’m not overly concerned.

  4. mvaden1948 says:

    And this time next week I’ll be there!

  5. julie says:

    The day has finally come ! Have a wonderful time Michele .. will be thinking about you … try and keep us all updated x

    • mvaden1948 says:

      Grazie, Julie,
      Nice of Rick Steves to have his new Venice show on TV tonight. Maybe I should give him a call and thank him? Actually first he’s in Roma. That part is coming on right now.
      Ciao, Bella.

Leave a Reply

